I'm done with facebook!

in #facebook7 years ago

I wish my first post on steemit could be somewhat positive but I have to say, my main reason I landed here is that facebook turned into a landmine anyone can step on at any time - and without warning.

I never gave the fact any thought that fb blocks accounts for the funniest of reasons - based on pure political correctness, in fact one could say -fundamentalist- political correctness.
Now being a victim myself I searched on Youtube and Google and the amount of blocked accounts is HUMUNGOUS!
On Youtube you can watch any number of angry former facebook user who lost not only their accounts and friends but sometimes their livelyhood - with full fledged online business pages becoming inaccessible overnight, without warning, and without redress.

I was blocked for publishing a picture of a row of christmas lamp-posts that remotely resembled a male organ, hence the text read "christmas dicks" - and yes, the facebook censor took offense. I had somehow and unbeknownst to me overstepped the line between a funny remark and religious "hatespeech".

I have since tried to get my account back, along with a couple of hundret contacts and three groups I run.
But no luck. I have used my legal name from the start - and in my initial panic even tried the extremely questionable "show us your passport and we re-activate your access" option - which didn't work - but now that monster data collection tool facebook has my passport number too. GREAT!

Sort:  

FACEBOOK is a hell hole. Good move. I was kicked off of TWITTER and driven from the PC censorship and manipulative world of FACEBOOK. Better that we eat rat and drink whiskey and live in boxes than to be on FACEBOOK.

Congratulations @samvado! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @samvado! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @samvado! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @samvado! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!