You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Great Story Of Hustle, A Kind Stranger & Faith In Humanity = One Unexpected $1,000+ Free Recycling Find Last Night

in #faithinhumanity5 years ago

Very cool story. Fully agree with you not to judge a book by his cover, but given the circumstances I would have done the same and go in a defensive state.

I wonder who spends 1000$ on a used mattress.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for reading! This model is top of the line for this brand. The others on Craigslist for this model are asking $1,200 used, so I listed for $1,000, although I might keep it for a while. It feels freaking divine like a sea of amazing foam. If I have to discount it, maybe $800 over time, but some people in my city don't blink at cost for the higher end stuff, especially when it's like new.

That is cool. On the other side of the pond most of the mattresses get recycled after being used.

Posted using Partiko Android

Same here. There are often a 6-12 out every night when I do my walks. Many are lousy or meant to be replaced, but sometimes people move out in a hurry and literally dump their apartments on the curb where it's a field day for those who are paying attention. When it's a wealthy person, the stuff is good and literally moved outside and sitting there for only a few hours, perfectly clean! There is a lot of $ to be made from mattresses, but I stay away from them because it's not worth the space and risk. This one was a lucky situation.