life with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormons)

in #families6 years ago

In the 70s two young american who introduced themselves as Missionaries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Days Saints(LDS) Mormons knocked in the house of my late grandfather Custodio Babalcon Rosales. There were two of them Elder Philip Hobby from Pert Australia and Elder Kelly Young from Brigham City , Utah , USA. The have a book the Book of Mormons . They befriended my grand father .Started giving lessons about the restored church, the Prophet Joseph Smith As my grandfathers pet he invited me to join the lessons as well.

Months later , my grandfather was given a baptismal challenge which he and I accepted with the great opposition of my die hard Roman Catholic grandmother. As fate would have it, the two Elders received a "quickmere". A quickmere during those times is a telegram order for the missionaries to transfer immediately to another mission area. With the quickmere my grandfather backed out from the challenge. I who was now converted on the fullness of the gospel would like to go onw with my baptism but it was the policy of the church not to baptize young girls without their elders preferably their father.I was already vent to be baptized so i keep on crying for nights. Because of this, my father accepted the lessons and finding that it was the truth we were baptised. This started the baptism and conversion of our relatives and friend.

Now at 65 and with my father gone, it is with great memories that i am thankful i found the gospel . It brings smiles looking at the elder who baptised me, the members that fellowship us..Its worth noting that these black and white pictures are all circa 70s

..5089_1097268228915_5817159_n (1).jpg
5089_1097119465196_3196661_n.jpg5089_1097119505197_4223535_n.jpg5089_1097119425195_1270623_n.jpg

Sort:  

What a great story. Glad it all worked out so wonderfully. Must be nostalgic posting these pictures.

yes jarvie it really was. The picture was taken 42 years ago and some of those in the picture had died. Sad but true .Thnaks for the visit

found out that most of your beautiful pictures ( i am ashamed of my pictures ...i am not professional photographer)were taken in Utah and Idaho are you a member of the church or have you encountered members of the church. We use to have a missionary from Boise ,Idaho but majority are from Utah ...thanks

This is awesome, glad you shared your conversion story!