You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Advice To my Daughter on her 18th Birthday

in #family7 months ago

I think it's better to say a little too much and sometimes a little too clumsily than to say nothing at all to your children. My mother had many sayings in store, was a practising Christian and often aroused my resistance. I rejected many things as a young woman, yet I think the friction was important rather than nothing of importance being said or exemplified.
I support all parents who make the difficult attempt to transmit something Christianly motivated in a predominantly - it seems - un-Christian world, rather than feeling uncomfortable about one's origins and pretending that "anything goes", where the young person just wants to see a difference, even if he claims that "religion is stupid" or has other prejudices, when his environment tries to educate him in a purely secular way.
Well done! Your daughter is lucky to know where her father stands in life.