A second try.

in #family6 years ago

In November of 2016 I found out I was pregnant with my now almost 6 month old daughter. I've been working from home for years as a graphic designer, but as a mother of 2 at the time (a boy 7 and a girl 8) I knew I wanted and needed something more stable and reliable.

My mother has been a certified nursing assistant for years and I've witnessed her provide for her three children off of that occupation for years. She also recommended me getting my license, so with that I went for it.

I was around 6 months pregnant in May of 2017 and I went for it. I completed my 4 week, 2 days a week night class for CNA. With the help of my step dad's transportation, my mom helping me pay for the class, and my best friend of 10 years watching my kids during I was able to complete and pass it.

Everyone told me ahead of time the testing site would be tough. The women come from the state, and leave no room for error. I suppose I could understand because this is a position in the health field, but one error and you fail it all? VERY discouraging. And, that's exactly what happened to me. I failed.

I was doing so well, and after sitting there pregnant and waiting all day I was surprised I hadn't lost it. When it was mine turn it started off fine and I felt very confident. Wash your hands, talk your way threw the task, close. Well by the end of my last skill in my clinical I guess I didn't realize how ready I was to be done. I rushed. By doing that I made a simple but vital error of not putting the patients shoes back on, and was stopped for safety.. I could feel my cheeks start to burn and I honestly just wanted to leave. When the time came and everyone was finished they started going over results. When it came my turn she told me I had passed the written but, I had failed the clinical which I already had an idea in the first place. There was a list with everything I had done wrong and I started to look over it, I had seen things on there such as hand-washing and not placing a gait belt in the right position. I knew I had done those things, I asked was there any way we could discuss the results because I know I had completed alot of the requirements. They told me there was nothing they could do once it was in the computer. I grabbed my results, I started crying, and got in my car and left.

Needless to say it is now December and I have a test date in January well where I will be retaking it. I never thought I was going to retake it because it really hurt my pride feeling that as a pregnant woman just wanting to provide for my children. But for my 3 kids I will never give up and on January 11th I pray I can pass this test so I can have a way to provide for my children. Thanks for reading.