What am I doing?

in #family7 years ago

homestead-ish cover (4).JPG

Ever get that feeling , What am I doing? I feel like that a lot. I multitask, but then I loose my thoughts for what I'm doing, and so many things have been started and not finished because of that. What am I doing? Jeff and I have been married going on 16 years in December. We've had our turn at raising 7 children to adulthood, and one more to be there in a few short years. Yes, thats right, 8 children. Mixed marriage going on here, and while theres been chaos throughout the years, its only made us stronger. Now that things are a bit quieter, we can focus more on what we want to do, and how we can include our children, grandchildren, as well as nieces and nephews.
We have gotten to a point in our lives where we are wondering if all the stuff is really worth having, or needing. Do I really need these pictures of random things, that have been collecting dust in storage? Do I need the electric yogurt maker when I can make yogurt without electricity?
Our biggest concern? What happens when we lose power? We live in a rental, in the country. Our stove is electric so that also means our oven is as well. Wehave a fireplace, sure, but its gas, LP, and needs to be fixed. Our heat is hot water registers, that has electric for heating of the water, as well as fuel oil. Candles are ok and we have some, but being in Wisconsin means there is a good chance that you will loose electricity in the winter. Winters here are cold, droppping to -40 on some days. Our chickens have survived by staying in their coop, but people houses are so much bigger!
We want to be non reliant on electricity, and provide a lot of what we need, from or own hard work of raising our own food, being a garden and animals.
What am I doing?
We have no access to water, and the well is on electric pump. Who thought of this stuff in Wisconsin?
What am I doing?
Can I stick to one project till completion and not working on several at once? Can I prioritise my days and keep them so that I don't get overwhelmed? How can I make our home a good place for those who live here or visit?

Lord God, help me to look to you for my strength when I ask What am I doing? Guide my actions to do what needs to be done and not worry about extras. Help us to see what we need and don't need, and help us unclutter our lives so we can see you more clearly.

Sort:  

At least you have internet.

Which is one reason why I'm on Steemit. I cannot upload videos from our home internet or our mobile devices at our house, unless we go in town, but I don't always have the time to sit in town on a restaurant or library's internet waiting for it to upload.

Congratulations @mamahubbard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!