Daddy can't come back

in #family7 years ago (edited)

Hi there. This will be my first steem post and I have not made any friends here yet, so I thought I'd make it about something very personal and dear to my heart. My life thus far. It's not a tale of grandeur that paints a fairytale world that glistens and glows, but it is honest! All be it brief...so here goes.
Unfortunately, when my daughter was 3 years old and my wife was pregnant with my second daughter the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agent that I had hours earlier agreed to meet briefly walked me into a cell for absolutely nothing. Leaving a distraught pregnant lady alone in a waiting room in shock and disbelief at what was transpiring.
About 20 years ago, I was involved in an altercation with another individual that thought it advantageous to bully and eventually attack my younger brother. Needless to say, big bro came to the rescue. But as it was daylight and a few neighbours saw what happened it resulted in my arrest. Sadly this occurrence managed to rear its head again after 9/11. When re-entering the country after visiting my mother in England. I was apparently flagged at the airport and told to meet with the ICE Agent due to this past history. This was in 2008.
I spent a year trying to fight my way through an unidentifiable systems terrain while trying to keep my wife sane and my family together all from a federal cell in Alabama. What nightmares are made of!
Now 8 years later, I strive to see my two girls 3 times a year for a week or two as it proved too hard/much (for the ex) to have my now ex-wife and my step daughter relocate. As a husband I've always strived to give her everything but the idea of leaving her own Mother was too much. I've argued and fought my corner with the so called love of my life to have her understand the importance of a father in his daughters lives but to no avail and I am a man that will not remove a child from its loving Mother and would rather make the best out of the situation. The kicker, is that the ex is now dating her then boss who is supposedly some fancy Doctor and they now live in a nice multi million dollar Mansion.
My girls will one day know the warrior that is their Father. (Darth Vader voice) Needless to say, I'm waiting for my hefty dose of Karma... can you say lottery win? IMG_0398.JPG

Sort:  

Keep your head up, buddy. Sounds like you've had a rough way to go and you aren't letting it shoot you down. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your reply bro. It's like therapy! 😁

I concur... nice words @tommyinthesun

That's really rough @savvychap. Fathers shouldn't have to suffer to see their children, and to deal with exes like this. I hate the idea of it. Take pride in your strength. Seriously. Welcome to Steemit, you'll have a home here.

Wow. Thank you. I could almost shed a tear! 🎩😁

I got you big bro... our lives kinda mirror each others in some aspects. But life always favors the brave and you are a lion 🦁. The tables are turning as we speak... nuff respek lil bro.

Congratulations!

Your post won my full vote as described here.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lennstar/pay-foward-show-me-good-newbie-posts-full-vote-for-them-and-you

Maybe you want to pay something forward, too?

Wow... thank you. Always happy to pay forward! 😁🎩
I'm liking the people here! Come for the food stay for the friends! 😉

Chin up mate..the tide will turn one day, so long as you persevere, well that's what they say. you're strong and very determined, it will happen just hang in there :)

Thank you. I rarely speak on this and it feels good to have decent replies from people. 🎩😁

There are nice and sensitive Steemians around, difficult to find them now with the increasing numbers. We have ears to listen. It can only get better. you're welcome.

We only curate on #whalepower Tag , when in use.
Please Read #whalepower Guidelines first

@bullionstackers sorry to be a nuisance. But what am I not getting...? Because I've read them.

@savvychap
First you need to use #whalepower Tag ( #whalepower is community Tag)
Read the Guidelines First - Click to Read
Read Latest Update #whalepower

Registration now is by invitation only. If your work is good , I will invite you to my Registered Membership follow list.

I give you a sample , of little taste

Gotcha... Gracias Amigo