My Long Weekend

in #family5 years ago (edited)

My Long Weekend.png

The embraces of the rural atmosphere takes me back to my primary years. The complimentary impression of carelessness and innocence made me forget the rush of the daily chase against the buzzer. Leaning against the worn out bamboo sofa and just let the breeze caress my very essence made me think, this is loosen up feels like.

Nowadays, I often overheard few of my teammates about their extravagant vacation. Boracay, Palawan, Kawasan and even the anticipated, Disneyland thus, naming a few. I sometimes got an invite to take part on their getaway and more often than not, I turned them down. Aside from the exhaustion it would cause towards my body, it would cost me a lot. Way beyond my allocated expense within that 15 – day range. If ever I would involve myself on it, the estimated cost would be multiplied to four. That is to my wife, my two children and me. Another option, as proposed by my wife, is that I will be the only one to go. But thinking ahead as to putting myself to their destination, it would also be pointless. I would only be wasting my time, effort and money. I would only be thinking about my family back home. Thinking if, they are taking their meal already? Or as simple as, is everything went well in my absence? So to put it bluntly, every time they would ask me to go with them, I always give them my straight forward response, NO.

So whenever we find time, or as occasion impose us to, we would visit my children’s Grandmother or often times, to a house of a friend. As of the moment, we are bringing my entire family with just our presently worn clothes with nothing to change to for a sleep over of a night or two on the house of a friend across the overlooking mountain side. Not that the other time when we are here makes any difference. Whenever there, we find occasions to celebrate, not just the typical birthdays or anniversaries. In the meantime, we are cooking to celebrate for Mama Mary’s Birthday. Being here, we are experiencing the most pure of what nature can give.

Being caught up to the question on how to spend my long weekend or my long vacation? I step back and think about it old school. Would it be practical to spend so much time, effort and money? Setting aside the practicality thing, how about this in mind? Would it make you feel happier than the time spent with the people that are the source of your happiness and strength? As for me, they are my Family. Beyond extended and beyond the boundaries defined by blood and papers.

Sort:  

Congratulations @soysoy2019! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Add in #marlians to your posts or visit marlians.com

It will enable you earn some extra steem-based tokens called marlians along with steem

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

I agree with you that going on a vacant ion without your family will seem like a total waste of time.
You are good man, I must confess.

Seeing somebody's good side makes me think that you are a great person yourself.

Maybe I am, thanks for the compliment.

Most definitely the quality of the vacation is not in the price tag, I am glad that you manage to see it and pass on these values to your kids :)

I certainly will do. Thanks.