You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [New Video Series!] True Anarchy, Installment 2: THE IMPORTANCE OF FAMILY

in #family7 years ago

I think maybe I would say tribe and not family. My family was horrific and dragged me down. I finally broke away from them and everything got better. I've met lots of people in my lifetime who have said "Oh that's so sad! My family are my closest friends!" and yes, it would be sad to lose your closest friends. What they cannot imagine is what it is to have your family be your greatest enemy. And the sheer will it takes to pull out of that.The other thing that people with strong families don't ever get to know is what it is to stand on your own two feet, separate, knowing that whatever comes your way, you, by yourself, can handle it. Most of the "family" people I know seem insanely dependent on one another and always afraid. They constitute the most fearful people I have met. They seem weakened by a need to appear as a unit, and hide in amongst each other. When you lose or give up your entire original family, you become strong in a way that people dependent on family will never know. I don't know that I'd recommend it, certainly, it would have been a much easier road to believe that there is always a loving net beneath you. But the absolute knowledge that I can get through anything--I don't know that I would trade that either.
I do believe in tribes, however. You can collect people that aren't necessarily family, but enrich your life and support you as you do them. You can create a beautiful rich world with those people. I think the ability to adapt, to be curious and analytical, to connect with people on meaningful levels and find your own happiness --these things far outweigh the cocoons that family are.

Of course--it could be a potato/pohtato thing! Different things work for different people :)
Thanks for the cool thoughts--

Sort:  

Thanks. Sorry to hear about your tough experience, but also happy to hear about your rebirth into a whole new level of power and strength.

I agree family can be toxic, and that sometimes all ties must be cut. I mentioned at the end of the video that even in this case one can, as you said, build their own tribe. To me, that is such an empowering thought!

Thanks again for the comment!

Thank you, sir--I love when I see stuff on here that's thoughtful and different--and your posts definitely are! Keep up the good work :)