Tales from the Past - Sean the Fashion Police

in #family4 years ago

The following is something my late mother wrote about me in 2007. I thought it was a fun thing to share with the world about my childhood. A great irony is that growing up, I never had any sense of fashion and I have since embraced going out in the public in whatever comfortable thing I had on. Even if they were pajamas.


I don’t know what’s wrong with my son but he is always very keen to go to school. The other day, he bounced into my room and woke me up (ok, I had a late night) and said it’s time to go to school. I looked at my watch and said it’s only 8am, you don’t have to be at school until 11am! He said anxiously, “No, they changed the time, now I have to be at school by 10.30!” I replied that since it only takes 10 minutes to get to school, we can leave at 10.15 so he could wake me up at 10.

He bounced back in again in what seemed like 5 minutes. “I’m gonna be late” He shouted in my ear. I peered at my watch again, “Sean! It’s only 9am!!” He said, “Yes, get up and get ready!” I booted him out with threats of extinction of his computer should he come back again before time.

It didn’t work.

At 9.30, he came in again so i gave up trying to get more shut eye, got up, got changed and went downstairs. He looked at me up and down. I was wearing a t-shirt and shorts. I said, “what?”

He said, “Are you taking me to school in that?”

I looked at myself up and down and said, “What do you mean?”

He said, “You’re taking me to school in your pyjamas?”

“I’ve changed out of my pyjamas!” Okay, so I had been wearing another t-shirt and shorts but since when has my nine year old been given the title of fashion police.

“It’s ok, Sean, I’m just the driver. I’m just dropping you, i won’t get out of the car,” I promised.

Looking unconvinced but having no choice since he was still worried about being late, he allowed me to pop him in the car, drive him off to school, then I came back home and went back to sleep in peace.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tadstrange! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!