The Quality of My Life, Is the Quality of My Relationships

in #family8 years ago

I'm 51. My boys are 10, 9, 7. I lived 22 years as my parents child, 12 years as a single adult, and 6 years as a married adult without children, before our oldest was born.

I appreciate that I was able to experience those different lifestyles for several years before becoming a father. I travelled extensively as a single person. I remember visiting the Grand Canyon alone. It was amazing. I stood at the rim. Looked beside me, and no one was there. I realized that I did not want to experience the joys of life alone.

My wife and I did many fun things during our years without children. We enjoyed our life, but realized that we would rather share it with others. We had a wonderful life, and wanted children to experience it with us.

I realized that the quality of my life is the quality of my relationships. When I traveled as a single person, relationships were difficult. When I worked in my career, my time as a father was not how I wanted it. I've made drastic changes to make my relationships be how I wanted them.

I'm not accomplishing things. I'm not reaching goals. I'm living. I'm enjoying my time with my family. I'm being here now with them. I don't want it any other way.