You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Family drama

in #family2 months ago (edited)

That last photograph is very interesting, because less than half the class is performing the Roman salute the Nazis adopted. Some of them are performing the salute that America and other Western countries performed, and some of them aren't saluting at all. That has meaning, I think.

Thanks!

Edit: I just looked at that pic of the children again, and noticed the two little girls in front were holding hands. I think that's the best salute of all.

Sort:  

Actually, the little girl on the right seems to be my mother so thanks for pointing it out. After going through hundreds of photos it's hard to focus on the details. I believe the picture dates from the late 1930s and those were confusing times in my country. We were allies with the Germans at that time. However, the military leaders of those times are rarely mentioned and you won't see public ceremonies honoring their memory... like you could see in the Ukraine. Or at least you could before the war. I saw footage on a Russian channel, but it was real and quite unsettling.