You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fighting Government Child Kidnappers in Court (FamilyProtection Series -- Anna's Family Story Part V)

@canadian-coconut, as a former social worker and officer of the courts, I can absolutely say without doubt this social worker was a bad apple, there are a few like him that uses the law to abuse their position of power. It's those bad apples that leads to families questioning the integrity of the social work profession. From reading your post, it would appear there were no grounds to remove Liam from his mother's care. Unfortunately the system bands together and by doing so protects these bad apples from being investigated for unprofessional conduct.

I know of many social workers that are fighting to keep families together, sometimes at the cost of their jobs and health. It's the way managers are making decisions based on information they've been given by the bad apples in the system. There are a lot of so called 'social workers and team managers' that should not be in the profession, I have to accept their making wrong decisions because their driven by their egos. Reading this post reminded me of the reason why I left am no longer part of the system, but also this post saddened me as I know there are social workers and managers that despite the odds are doing everything they can to keep families together. Peace.

Sort:  

Thank-you for your comment.
This whole MCFD/CPS office where I live are rotten apples! They employ drug addicts, sexual deviants, and the least qualified people ever to know what a healthy family looks like.

Anna went through it here, and I have personally helped two other families with their dealings with them, and seen with my very own eyes where they outright broke the laws and regulations. They are simply evil here in this town.
A practicing lawyer in the neighbouring community told me that this town where I live is the worst that he has ever seen.
So, yes I realize that most people may not experience things quite as horrible as Anna did -- BUT the fact that the courts and laws protect anybody who puts on the label of "Child Protection Worker" even though they are completely abusive of families and children -- well that says a lot.

It also says a lot that a good person such as yourself can not continue to work in this field. That says to me that "bad apples" are pretty common and that the "bad apples" keep the good workers from being able to do their job of actually protecting children and famlies.

Thank you so much for your response, the 'bad apples' can't stay amongst professional workers because their bad practice gets noticed and reported. I agree with you and I can tell you alot of these worker are not qualified professionals, it makes a mockery of the system. I'm in the middle of writing a book about my experiences on the job, it makes for very interesting reading. I also caution child protection officers on their conduct when engaging families, this is important as the 'bad apples' and sometimes newbies don't have a clue about their roles much less their boundaries. They can really mess up and piss family's off with their attitudes. Back in England I'm in touch with a prominent member of parliament, in fact she attempted to revolutionalise the child protection process by addressing practice standards. Unfortunately the 'bad apples' don't like change but I look forward to the day when they'll be forced out.

In my town, the head of the whole department is an evil man, and he hires evil people. And if per chance he accidentally hires someone who is a good person, they have to quit or will be fired.

I look forward to reading your book when it is done!

Yeah, that's how it is, if you're too good at your job, you become a threat to those at the top when you question bad practice. Thank you @canadian-coconut, I'll keep you posted. Peace.