You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Danger of Mandatory Reporters

I actually called CPS once because my foster sons siblings were in a hideous situation. it was either call the police or CPS. I hated making the call knowing that it could end very badly. But to my amazement it ended well and with a positive outcome. Yes, when we ask the paternal State to care for us we give ourselves up to the State. They own us. Glad you are forwarding the rewards to a good cause. Blessings.

Sort:  

I am glad it worked out well for you. One of the things that shocked me as I was researching this post was that they love to target families on assistance. I am guessing because they don't have the means to fight back.

You foster son was lucky to have you there for him and his siblings. I lean towards thinking it was because you were involved that helped things to a good ending.

It's a long story I'll share one day, but for now I'll tell you that me fostering two boys from this family was not done through the state. The woman actually gave me her son. She didn't want him any more...at least in her home. So when I turned her into CPS there was the very real chance that the boy I had (and his younger brother a couple of years later) would have ended up in state care or in the foster care system. But it was not meant to be. I believe there was some divine intervention or something because none of the kids were taken out of her home. She was doing drugs, the house was waaaay beyond filthy, and she was having her two little girls join her in bed with men visitors! And... well, other stuff too. So that the kids were not taken still surprises me. But by the grace of God I was able to raise the two boys and they turned out pretty good, all things considered. They are now 28 and 24 and work for my son. He is a painting contractor.

Perhaps, because it is Nevada, and we get so many transient people here, so many homeless families living on the streets, the State simply had no place for the kids to go so they left them in place. Thats probably what happened. The incidence of this type of thing is much higher here than in most states.

Wow, that mother sounds so evil. I am thankful you and your son were and continue to be there for them. I look forward to your sharing when you feel the time is right. I can't imagine the damage that woman caused to those poor girls, probably forever damaging their ability to pair bond with men as they were exposed to such scum at an early age. I hope that in your future sharing it will include those girls somehow being rescued at some point, although the damage done will forever haunt them.

ONe of the daughters ended up hooking on the streets as a 13 year old. No kidding. She ended up being institutionalized by the state for a year. Didn't do any good. Perhaps ignorance ( or stupidity) is bliss. Neither the mom or the two girls are very bright, so they don't know anything else. A whacky life is normal for them. The daughter now has 4 kids (3 different dads) is married to an illegal alien, and lives with her mom, 5 dogs, 3 cats and her other sister who is a fetal alcohol syndrome victim who has two little boys from a mentally handicapped father. Grandma actually wanted the handicapped girl to have kids, hoping they would be mentally handicapped so she could collect social security. I'm telling the truth. She got her wish, one of the boys is autistic. Anyway, they all live together. Lets see... 6 kids, all the animals, grandma, the two daughters, one mexican husband and one of the boys (who I raised for a few years) is there temporarily. He is an alcoholic but works for my son. Stays sober during the day. I'm not making any of this up. Theres more but ... later. I've joked with my oldest foster son that his family would make a great TV show. All of America would feel better about themselves when comparing to this family. One big sorrow: they constantly supply sugar to the little toddlers. Now the one little boy, almost 3, has to have dental surgery to remove most of his rotted teeth. Oh my....I've tried to get them to control the sugar but it's like talking to a brick wall. I gave up. It really is a slice of life most people can't imagine, but I suspect is far more common than we know. Some of the people I've seen come and go over there really makes one wonder if there is any hope for humanity.

Definitely a sad truth that it probably is more common than we know. Heartbreaking.

Greetings! Glad to see your comments. Hope to see more of you around. Blessings.

Thank you for sharing a bit of your story. And I agree with you about divine intervention. God's got it, especially when we do not. God bless you.