What to do when the CPS knocks on our door. Suggestions psychology

pueta.jpg

Hello community, this greeting is addressed to all the people who in one way or another help #familyprotection, in this publication I want to give you some training to know what to do as parents or as assistants when moments of despair happen if, indeed, where they start visits to our home by the police or social service, playing again and again at our door and children become uncomfortable and anxious, usually the answers I read in their stories is telling the children that everything is fine and that nothing happens.

But, suppose that unfortunately tomorrow they knock on the door again and your children have to leave with social service and days go by where you do not know about them, you can not even make phone calls, at some point you can think that it will always be Going around the idea that you told your little ones that everything will be fine, they may believe that you just left them because you knew it was going to happen.

Technique to use in case of visit of the CPS

In psychology we use something called "psychological first aid" when we are dealing with a trauma or a situation that generates emotional demands and the people who suffered it suffered enormous consequences that lead them to lose their calm, such first aid is not necessarily applied by psychologists, also individuals who wish to do so and to be trained can acquire these skills.

The first thing we do then is to encourage dialogue among those affected in order to reach a consensus on what happened, this dialogue must contain all the impressions that each one had to be immersed in the demanding situation, including the children's questions about what happened, the details that others let pass and perhaps another perceived with greater precision.

Utility

This is done in order to hear that the other also suffered emotional repercussions and that I am not alone in the situation, it is also used with the objective that all participants know that it is totally allowed to feel overwhelmed by the situation and that this it is not normal. If we use this instead of telling the children "everything is fine", they would know what to expect when they are without their parents.

When I was separated from my family one of the great repercussions that I suffered emotionally was not knowing what to expect, I had many questions in my head and no one answered them, I did not know if I could go home or I would just stay there, I did not know If at some point I could talk to my mother again and I know that everything would have been easier if she will explain to me who was the one who knocked on the door.

This publication arises as a response to @kryptocoin, in his last post I received many emails from people affected animicamente but, without having tools to give them an approached answer, if you allow me, I will be periodically publishing some suggestions so that you put them in motion with whom I needed it. I am a clinical psychologist and I am willing to help you in whatever is necessary.

Thank you for reading and I sincerely hope that it will help you and multiply it, someone needs it.

Our duty is to protect children physically and emotionally

Sort:  

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support of @familyprotection