Homeschoolers Beware

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

01.jpg
Google Images

When I wrote Beware of Greeks Bearing Gifts as a warning that government programs- regardless of how beneficially they may seem when presented- are seldom what they seem. I didn't just write this off the top of my head, but from having majored in Political Science as an undergrad and having monitored government activity for the last 25 years.

What I've learned is that if the government is handing you something with one hand, watch the other one... they're inevitably taking more away- usually in terms of rights, money or both. Like I've said many times, a politician is someone with the ability to pat you on the back and piss in your pants pocket at the same time. Now that my rant is done- let's get to the nuts and bolts of what's going on.

While analyzing the new "pro-family" bill in Michigan, I warned about ramifications for homeschoolers. Now other states are following suit. The Michigan law sets forth a fixed curriculum that ALL schools (home included) must follow. This is what I wrote: "Similarly, the next subsection (b)(1) (A) goes on to define "Education" as "learning based on an ORGANIZED [emphasis added] educational program"... and then goes on to list the limitations and list a curricula as "reading, spelling, mathematics, science, history, civics, writing and English grammar." (sounds like grounds to condemn the public school system!) The wording "organized educational program" is really bothersome as it could adversely affect homeschoolers." How can the state ensure that this curriculum is being followed without some sort of invasive procedure... the short answer is the it can't.

A new bill in the Maryland House of Representatives will impose draconian requirements on parents who wish to teach their children at home, including registering then and adhering to a curricula determined by the state as well. This is one part of the bill I find troubling..."6 (II) BE FOR THE PURPOSE OF ENSURING THAT THE CHILD IS RECEIVING REGULAR, THOROUGH INSTRUCTION IN THE STUDIES USUALLY TAUGHT IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS AS REQUIRED UNDER § 7–301 OF THIS ARTICLE." Although on the surface this may appear reasonable, many parents opt out of public schools because of the filth typically taught is classes such as sex ed. Given my experience with government, I surmise that "thorough" would necessarily include this filth. Without examining the entire bill (I'll leave a link at the end) in order to homeschool, parents must allow "inspections" checking for "abuse and neglect" by state officials without advance notice. This is a gross violation of privacy... No other citizen has this unconstitutional behavior forced on them. The assumption behind the bill is that homeschooling is a form of abuse or neglect. If you remember from my Michigan post- abuse and neglect are nebulous and subjective concepts that can mean whatever the "inspector" wants it to.

California is going even further (no surprise there). In reaction to the Turpin case, where the parents David and Louise Turpin have been charged with horrific acts of torture against their 13 children, all homeschoolers in the state of California are being painted with the same brush. The pertinent fact is that California doesn't want parents to educate their children. Similar to gun control advocates, whose goal is the confiscation of guns, the welfare of children and/or their education is not a part of the agenda. It's a gross application of the logical fallacy of composition to assume that because the Turpins engaged in this onerous behavior that all homeschoolers are like them. But as it is with any group of zealots, never let facts get in the way when you have a point to make... so it is with the People's Republic of California.

In an article for the Freedom Outpost... "Because they were registered homeschoolers, the state is now blaming all homeschoolers.

Instead of realizing the problem of child abuse has nothing at all to do with homeschooling, lawmakers across the country are using this moment to demonize parents who wish to teach their children outside of the state."

According to the Washington Examiner: " if this increase in government oversight becomes law, it would reduce the valid legal option of homeschooling from a fundamental parental right, to direct the education and school choice for children, to compelled consent to government intrusion upon the sanctity and privacy of the home and school choice.”

None of this legislation is about education, it's about government control of how children think. The public schools have been turned into indoctrination centers that have little to do with education. If education was the focus of the Michigan guidelines, the public school system would be shut down. My biggest worry is that if this legislation passes (and believe me it will in some form) that other states will follow suit and this will probably be picked up by the US Dept. of Education and homeschoolers will be opened up to draconian governmental intervention... This does not bode well for homeschooling.

http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2018RS/bills/hb/hb1798F.pdf
https://freedomoutpost.com/state-force-homeschoolers-submit-warrantless-home-inspections-trampling-rights/

DQmYkADovxQ4T6Uq9Q4sVRf5o7ogFwseRpP53qzQsXfRfLW.png

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  
This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection
Governments around the world are using "Child Protection Agencies" to take children away from loving families and place them in foster care or group homes, or put them up for adoption.

THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.
Thank-you @richq11 for supporting our community.

To Help Us Help Families in Crisis, all you need to do is UPVOTE this Comment and DONATE a Portion of the SBD Rewards from this post.
(If you @richq11 perceive this comment to be spam or a scam we will remove it at your request, Every penny we raise will go to helping families in need as all the funds we raise are transparent and accounted for.)

Government is like but fat monster who needs to go on a diet. Home schooling does not benefit the pockets of government and the monster is hungry for power and money. Of course it will demonize the families that choose to enjoy freedom away from the monster. Thanks @richq11

Exactly right... Like I said, if they're handing you a dollar with one hand, they're taking ten with the other!

If you are in the United States and Home school I highly suggest a membership in HSLDA it isn't that much a month and as long as it isn't a custody issues with homeschooling they will get involved and fight for your home schooling rights You can join at this link https://hslda.org/

I agree, where I live there are also some really good local groups. Unfortunately, when I homeschooled my kids- there weren't any such groups so I had to fight CPS the whole time!

I started to respond to this earlier and couldn't because I had gotten hacked, but I have control of my account again. I wanted to Thank you for your battles with CPS, your battles and other peoples early battles for their right to home school has paved a way for an easier path for myself and many others. I also live in a place where we have a great home school community. We have proms and graduation ceremonies. Indiana is a great place to home school. I haven't had any issues with CPS and home schooling. Thankfully, but I have my own stories with CPS.

Rich - As always I appreciate your information, the premise the government cares about anyone’s children we all know is false. The indoctrination centers (schools) are all about controlling people, whether through school ID’s, school lunch, dress codes, and of course most importantly curriculum. This is why headstart programs are so popular, get them away from free thinking parents and start controlling children. I need to work on an article on homeschooling like you recommended, been getting some thoughts together. @bowentrayor if you are not part of HSLDA, I would recommend joining regardless of current relationship with your local school district. That can change on a dime, I know from experience.

Look up people “The truth is out there!”

Thanks my friend! My own kids are all grown and successful in their own endeavors. Where I live there are several homeschooling associations that integrate homeschooled kids into sporting programs and other such things, such as setting up curricula, etc..

We are a homeschooling family here in KY. I really appreciate you posting information like this. It can be hard to find and you do an excellent job of getting the information out. Keep up the good work.

If you have some sort of homeschooling assn there, I would get in touch. Where I live in Arkansas it's really organized. I can see these laws going national sooner rather than later so I'd get prepared.

and then goes on to list the limitations and list a curricula as "reading, spelling, mathematics, science, history, civics, writing and English grammar." (sounds like grounds to condemn the public school system!)

Almost spit up my coffee there.

No doubt this is just another grab at dictating how one has to conform. People just aren't seeing the big picture because it doesn't affect most peoples lives. I have pointed out for years now this scenario:

Under most jurisdictions, if you lived without electricity or running water to your dwelling that is grounds to have your children taken from you. So based on this outlook, all of those who lived before electricity or running water in their house were unfit as parents.

It is scary that most refuse to think and just nod in agreement with whatever the bureaucrats insist we must do for the greater good. When I homeschooled my son I used my own curriculum on what I deemed important. I felt critical thinking was more important than memorization. Because of this my son now holds a job earning more than I have ever come close to.

They are afraid of thinking people. People who think notice what is going on. Not good for business.

I homeschooled 4 and all are successful, even my youngest who chooses to be a stay at home mom. The most important thing you can teach is how to find out what you need to know... doing research. Instead of memorization, I had my kids read something (about which ever subject we were studying) and write me a paper on it. Then we would review correcting for grammar, spelling etc. As far as the curriculum mentioned- that's pretty much what homeschoolers teach anyway. My kids also learned how to grow a garden, can food and other useful skills.

By the way... we have a tag- @informationwar-, you should check it out. One or two of the guys asked me to give you a shout

Thanks, I will make sure to look for posts using it.

I know what it's like to be a homeschooler and have the government stick their noses in. The Swedish government call it child abuse for not sending your children to school.

I agree with @tecnosgirl, HSLDA is a must for anyone who homeschools because the state is stepping up their efforts to destroy any form of individuality.

I agree with her too... When I do my next post on homeschooling (which I feel will be soon) I'll recommend them. What I see happening here is the govt using the case in California to create a homeschooling "crisis" and then the Dept of Education adopting an amalgam of the Maryland and Michigan models. The problem is that this is going to give CPS carte blanche to walk into any homeschooler's home looking for abuse and neglect... and we both know what that can mean!

Thanks for this excellent update, @richq. Grim.

Sad reality mate. They get their way whether you want it or not. A lady on discord said the best way is not register in the first place and you got no heat at all. This could just be her good fortune but maybe not...
You raise worthy suspicions mate and you don't get something for nothing(My mum taught me that). In the UK they have started giving families grants toward putting their kids into "steiner-schools" They seem to be like alternative and almost like home-schoolling but with what you are saying and the fact that the UK gov are endorsing the steiner schools. Then that makes me think that they have taken over the structure of these schools and will offer that as a controlled opposition to state schooling. I assume these schools will have a very close relationship with the SS and education authorities and turn out to be a middle-man to trap and supply families to the welfare system...
I wouldn't put anything past the wankers.

From what I have seen (which is very little) those schools are heavily into the occult, which fits right in with the UK govt. Also that they're hippie schools that don't really focus much on actual education.

Certainly something going on there. Found huge link about pedo circle from Devon that is now in control of universities in Leeds. All goes back to religious sect that came out of devon and set up community schools. Masses of abuse cases all around devon and now the organisation has grown to a university group. Says it all. To say we have lost control of the situation is a HUGE understatement.

I'm afraid the UK is a lost cause! If it isn't the elite pedophiles, it's Muslims with the elites covering for them. "They're everywhere- they're everywhere!!!"

Makes the National Anthem an even bigger joke than it already was. I know your prob sick to the back teeth with it like me, but more scandal has now come from telford uk. It wasn't a very nice tale to wright up. You want to hear these uk inquiry hearings. Yo say the church is a law to itself is an understatement. How are you anyway? You still keeping busy? I'm waiting for fishing season to start :)

I need to take up fishing just to get away from all of the degradation! I don't eat them and don't want to kill something I'm not going to eat. I need to grab my camera and walk the woods or something clean... something that doesn't make me feel dirty... Check this out!

https://steemit.com/life/@richq11/the-face-of-evil

LOL me neither mate. Catch and release :) Yes mate get in the wilderness while its still real! I'll take a look at the link now. I was supposed to be under a car today but its bloomin snowing again!

There is as a way of government the delivery of continuous help to omit the skills that a human being has and make them dependent, every time I read CPS stories I wonder, when they separate children from families that do not have stable income, because instead to separate does not increase the sources of training jobs. I made a post to provide them with tools when they need it after passing a separation of our children, I hope you read it, the truth will give you tools

Thank you... I'll take a look

that's amazing friend

How much more do this people called government seek to take from parents. They are now after homeschoolers and trying to infringe on their fundamental parental right to homeschool their children.
Like you said,it is not about education,it is a tactics at indoctrination. Something really needs to be done and it has to be fast!
Thank you sir for this info.

These attacks and accusations on homeschoolers are definitely getting worse and more heated . I agree with what you said that it’s like gun control. I can see neighbors and people that spot homeschoolers trying to call them in to get them inspected. Because now people are going to look at us homeschooling families and have that question in their mind “are they abusing their children?” What a way to get people to look down on homeschool even more. Smh

That bill kind of reminds me of the PRA (Parental Rights Amendment) that is in both houses of Congress now. Most of the bill “sounds” appealing and sounds as if it will really protect the rights of parents but there are some fine lines that say differently. I wrote a couple of posts all about it.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support of @familyprotection

Keep in mind that in California they saw many families turn to HS when they implemented the mandatory vaccine and took out the personal and religious exemptions. Whenever the government feels they are loosing their control they make new rules that make it harder for people to defy them and find loop holes.