You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The @FamilyProtection Community is Growing Strong. Plus An Important Annoncement.

in #familyprotection6 years ago

I have a friend who was at the Mackinaw Center (a think tank) who did studies on education. He interviewed CEO's from major corporations and their biggest complaint was that nobody coming out of college could write. I taught at a community college for a couple of years and saw the same thing. When I homeschooled I would give the kids a reading assignment and have them write a short paper explaining it. Then we would go over it and correct for grammar as well as the subject matter. That way I could teach several subjects at once. By the time my boys were 12 -14 they were reading Plato and Aristotle.

Sort:  

Oh wow. That is crazy, but I can understand how people aren't able to write. We need to get back to the basics one of these days instead of teaching to the different state mandated tests.

Ever since the federal government took over education it's devolved into a social and moral quagmire where education is almost non-existent.