You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Up in Foster Care.......... And How it Effects Your Relationships.

@markwhittam, you are so right about walls! Any traumatic event or loss of loved ones keys that fight or flight response. In my case, after my son passed away, I chose flight because it felt as if I had no more fight left in me. Working with youth that could have easily been your buddies back in your day, has been more about helping them reach a point to where they no longer needed the walls. You are so fortunate to have made it where you are today!! It takes a hella lot of work to pull yourself out of your cave and decide you are ready to change your life for the better! Just telling your story will encourage others to do the same!!

Sort:  

Thank you @thethreehugs

I hope this helps people see the effects of growing up alone in the world.

And to think that this story is nothing in comparison to what can and so often does happen to children caught up in this system.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment.

Bless.

Yes, it's pretty sad when you think of it. You are most welcome my friend

This post upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs