You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Frost Field" novel. Opening chapters.

in #fantasy5 years ago

Story is enjoyable so far, I really don't like the pre formatted format. It was difficult getting all of the first part, would not paste in note pad, so used windows word for it, which worked well, but in order to get it all I had to copy and past three times, and that was just on the first part. (the last three lines would not copy and paste correctly).

The intro and chapter one could have been a complete post, then followed with a chapter two post, and a chapter three post. I have read a lot of various story works on steemit and most of them do follow a five to slightly more page format.

A few of the Authors works to look at and see how they do their story post might be helpful. @alienbutt has done several stories on steemit, and has a current offering, as a reader of stories I find the format used by him easy enough and a short everyday read is fine by me, also lets face it, my vote value and that of others at this point in steemit time is not that great.

A few more Authors on steemit that I enjoyed length and posting style was @michelle.gent, currently not very active story wise, but several examples on her blog. @everittdmickey, he does have a lot of short form post but look for his stories he also had a readable format. Also worth a look to see appropriate length for stories on steemit would be @pibara.

That is just a few of the many authors, All of them different and unique writers and various styles of posting, but if you read a few you will see that most of them are pretty close to the same length to read.

It used to be very hard to do a TOC for stories, and still is somewhat, but with the ability to go back and edit even beyond the seven days limit it has gotten a bit better.

Of course this is all my preference others may enjoy your method of posting, there is really no right or wrong way, some ways I find easier some I don't.

Sort:  

Thanks, Shadow. It must be some kind of default when the text reaches a certain threshold. I don't like that either. If I post more long form chapters, stories, etc. I'll need to do them in smaller chunks or find a plug-in to avoid that.

Definitely with you that it's not ideal. Thanks so much for the time and feedback.