A minefield full of species

in #fantasy2 years ago


Link

You were my first kiss - the first and only one; the first and only kiss between two humans, the first and last kiss between us. I remember our first kiss well, it was stolen in the hallway of the maternity ward of our hospital. 'Quick baby you need a kiss,' you told my lips. Who knew you'd be my last kiss?

My people live in regions that are heavily populated. We are a small but growing population. As an adolescent I was taught about the dangers of city life by my older brother, who was a hunter our species and studies monster throughout the locale. He told me that where there is human, that is where monsters lay. I always got in fights with him about that. When I was sixteen I moved to the city with my father, to help him start a new business. Two weeks later, I thought I saw my first monster living in the city, in the hospital. I was feeling vulnerable and scared, the wellbeing of my father and I was in an unknown place and maybe I had imagined the "monster." I was too scared to tell anyone; I was a girl and all the boys hated me in school. I looked for the 'monster' for about two years, never telling anyone why I was there. I became accustomed to the life in the city, I blended in with all the humans. Maybe the monster I saw all those years ago was just a memory.

A year later our city was invaded by an unknown species, it warned everyone of the city about our growing population and we had an ultimatum. To either leave or relocate our people to the nearby nature reserve. We were to leave within a month. Such a short time to pack-up everything, leave behind our homes and loved ones, start a new life, and get ready to fight if need be. It was chaos, riots, vandals and looters, people running into one another as they scrambled to get their important items, some of us just left, hoping to find our homes after and bring our friends along with us, other religions and species took advantage of the chaos, prayed on it, and raided our homes, others jumped at the chance to get a few of our belongings. I too was one of the fools who took advantage of the chaos, but the only reason I did it was because my parents had left a letter for me and told me to take our family's heirlooms from a chest in my old home.

Truth be told, I was scared to leave the city. I was scared.

We packed everything up, left a message on my father's door from my brother; I wish I could remember what it said exactly but I can't, it got lost in all the mess. The day we left the city, my father and I was running late for the bus that would take us out of the city. I was carrying two bags, each packed with two hefty books, the two were about our two hundred years of history that was going with me on my journey. My mother was in the car, speeding through the empty streets in a hurry to reach the bus station. As we reached the edge of the city, my father pulled out a pair of metal keys and opened our old property, a small apartment was in the back. As we looked inside; I saw the heirlooms, they were the only things I remembered being important to me. My mother ran into the apartment to grab the stuff; she only got one bag out of the chest. My mother was just about to head back out from the apartment when she throws my bags inside and closed the door, before the doors could lock, the apartment exploded. I had pushed my father out of the way before the explosion; my father had the time to close his eyes before he collapsed. As I fell, I felt something, the back of my head was throbbing and a pale was forming around the back of my head, I turned a my head to look behind and see, I wanted to see it, but I couldn't all I could see was fire.

I don't know how long I was out, but it was long enough for someone to place me near a makeshift tent where I fell there and bled on the dirt ground. I had a hard time breathing and my chest was restricting, I couldn't move. I heard the sound of metal. I heard the sounds of battle and screams in the distance and I saw the flash of faint light from the tip of a sword. I was brought back to reality by the sound of my neighbour's daughter crying out for her mother. I sat up, as painful as it was and saw my arm covered with metal, metal that was once skin. I could see the exposed muscle and bone through the metal, my family heirlooms. I heard someone run up, we locked eyes and before I could say the word "monster" I blacked out.

Sort:  

Congratulations @davneal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!