The meeting between two sinister worlds

in #fantasy2 years ago


Link

Like every other day back home, the plane had picked me up from school and brought me back to London once again. But unlike any other day, it dropped me off right in the middle of a busy intersection. I saw something blue in my left and my feet took off before my mind thought to control them, eyes darting everywhere and frantically searching for the blue I was looking for. As the plane slid out of sight, I slowly got closer and closer to the blue. It was a slim and slim blue figure, receding into the air while slowly, I lost sight it. But then I saw it. A blue light. Bright blue. And blinking. I looked hard. It was hardly the blue I was looking for but nonetheless, it was a blue light, and I carried on looking up at it, it was so bright and beautiful. I followed it, down the road and off the road, through the place I had landed. The road-like pavement was looking like a thin ribbon, from what I had seen from the plane. However, it seemed like a vast and wide path now, with buildings that I'd say were about 60 - 70 stories tall. I could not take my eyes off the path; the buildings were so tall, the buildings were so thin. But I still followed the blue light, my legs taking small steps. I could hear nothing but my heartbeat and the traffic and the wind. That was about it. The only thing I could think about was that this was too much for me. I was used to large buildings in London, perhaps 20 story tall buildings; but this seems very out of place.

I was brought out of my thoughts when I almost crashed into the most beautiful blue figure I have ever seen. I'm sure it was the blue light because I could see my breath. There was a blue figure standing right in front of the building I'd been looking at; I don't know what it was. But as it got closer I could make out a more accurate form. It was a man. He had a big blue hat and blue uniform. His robe was blue with a little shine to it. He was short, about my height... when I'm wearing shoes. That was something new. I was barefoot before the plane set me down. I don't know why I took off my shoes; maybe I was thinking about something else... It doesn't matter now though; this is a story about a little girl in a world where I have never known, and I have never known anything about. Maybe I was overreacting. Maybe it was just a very tall, little man.

"Can I help you, little one?" the man said, his eyes focused squarely on me. His voice was so clear and loud in my ears, I don't know how he made it so loud without yelling.

"I'm looking for something blue..." I said, trying to make out that I was not from this world. The man's eyes met mine, and he looked vaguely familiar to me.

"Blue? You must be a little girl." he said, pointing at me and then realizing, too late, that he was standing less than a meter away from a young girl who was most definitely not a little lady.

I shook my head and looked down. "No, I'm a boy. I'm very short!" I said, wishing I had said that last bit louder. His ears were close now and I wondered why on earth he was listening to me.

"I'm sorry. I don't want to be rude, but I must be careful around you. Are you lost?" he asked, still looking down at me. I shrugged.

"I'm stuck." I said. This was true. I had no idea what to do next.

At that moment, something magical happened. The man lifted his head and his eyes met mine and as time stood still, he smiled. His eyes stared into my brown eyes. He looked slightly extraterrestrial, but his face had that little hint of smile that you often see on children.

"I think I know what you are looking for!" he said and then he turned, he skipped along the pavement, up the road, not very sure of where he was going. I wanted to follow him, but I felt a fear of not knowing him very well. I watched him walk away, a little more nervous than before, but when he disappeared at the end of the road, I eased onto the pavement and headed in the direction of the mans panicking face. The sun was shining as I walked towards the sky. All the buildings glistened and sparkled.