The strength within me

in #fantasy2 years ago



"Erm… what did you really do for this? I mean as far as I can tell you did nothing more to stop these guys than say, 'Help yourself.' Then you popped in and out without a word." At this point the detective is still confused and completely frustrated.

"Yes, well. I could have done so much. I had quite a bit of planning and preparation, and I wanted to stop them today, but the window of opportunity closed way too soon. I was doing a degree in politics, so I had a lot of insight and a good understanding why the things were happening.

"Now that you know my history, we can start on the first stage of the plan. I will brief you on the plan and explain the visions I had that foretold these events unfolding as it appeared to me in my visions and so on.

"First there was a great deal of activity in the north of the island. A small town had quite a few deaths from unnatural causes, and the corpses were not being brought out of the forest, unlike most murders on the island. They would stay in the forest and few would be found. There was a large power that caused the unnatural deaths in the place, and the place was linked to a large city in the south of the island. Then, one of the people in the north would die, and that person would be a wizard. That wizard would be the force behind most of the strange happenings on the island.

"After that, most of the deaths from natural causes disappeared from the north, and the victims were brought out of the forest to be buried. I could not comprehend the last part, however. It wasn't until I went to the village where I went to school and saw a large door made of different colored stones… and it wasn't where I was focused, but then it hit me.

"Then I remembered my visions. I saw a large blue flash of light appear right behind me. But before I could do anything, I was tasked with everything that I had to do. My assignment was very simple: I was to go and integrate with the non-magi in a place alone, and then fight when the time came. The place? The red village. The time? This very time.

"So here I am, fighting this battle in a place where I cannot affect anything of what happens. I can only see the battle, I cannot fight it. You, however, can do as you please."

You ask him, "Then what are you doing here? You could have stayed in a house in the village, rather than come to this place of death to do nothing. Why not just stay put, since your job's already done. You know that any attempt of mine to stop you will be useless."

"I will not die in this place if I can help it. But if I do die, I must die doing something. I can't leave such a mess behind. You know this is a massacre, yet you are standing here, talking to me. Do as you please, and be done with it. These people need help."

"I don't know what to do. I really have no place in this battle. I can't use any magical powers unless I have any. I've got nothing but a small sword, and I doubt it can even break through the shells of their armors."

"Then do this. Go and fight the soldiers, take their armors, and bring them to me. I will manage the rest." He looks at you with a serious expression.

"I have some healing abilities…"

"I don't have time for this. Just go, do what you can and bring me the armors. I have to be back to the senate before the war is over… or not."

"Ok, I'll do it. Let's go." You say as you take a deep breath and rush into the middle of a crowd. You swing your sword and cut at a skeleton, and it's almost not there, so you panic and try to cut again, the same thing happens again. You are completely surrounded by skeletons, and they attack you without a single word. You can only see their eyes, glowing red, and their hands, with their bony fingers grabbing at you.

And then, with a wave of your sword, they all shatter into pieces. You are still running through the crowd, and every single skeleton you meet crumbles into pieces on impact. The skeletons get fewer and fewer as you run, until you see the end of the wave. You are completely surrounded by the wooden remains. You hold your ground against them, and keep swinging, cutting and killing with every move. Suddenly you hear the sound of a giant beam crashing through the crowd, and something is headed towards you.


Source