A farmers market with all the fixings! It's Green Chilie roasting season in the Rockies, don't miss it.

in #farmers7 years ago (edited)

Living downtown on the West Side of Colorado Springs has perks! Every Saturday morning I am awakened by the fresh smell of roasted Chilies from the farmers market held in Bancroft Park across the street from where I live. Fruits and vegetables are grown in the Valley about 35 miles south of here and trucked in fresh for the neighborhood on a weekly basis. With multiple stands and competitive prices, it's easy to find the best things to eat that Colorado has to offer. Enjoy the pictures.
IMG_3177.JPG
Pueblo Chilies are the number one cash crop around these parts, the ones that don't get eaten become decorative displays.
IMG_3180.JPG
Roasted right on site with fresh garlic is the only way to go. You can smell these for miles around here.
IMG_3179.JPG
For 30 bucks a bushel (one green bag) you can freeze Chilies for all the winter Broncos Games.
IMG_3190.JPG
The selection of farm fresh vegetables picked yesterday is endless and will give you one hell of a workout carrying it home.
IMG_3188.JPG
Peaches grown in this part of Colorado will rival anything hanging from the trees in Georgia.....believe me!
IMG_3173.JPG
The melons are grown in Rocky Ford, Colorado and shipped all over the country, we are well know for these.
IMG_3191.JPG
IMG_3187.JPG
No additives here! This is the hard work of 100% hard working Colorado honey bees.
IMG_3182.JPG
IMG_3186.JPG
IMG_3196.JPG
Baked fresh everyday by the French bakery right next door to my house! I love this place.....
IMG_3183.JPG
The first pumpkins are starting to harvest, fall is right around the corner.
IMG_3194.JPG
IMG_3185.JPG
IMG_3175.JPG
You should be nice and hungry by now! Go find yourself a farmers market today and support these local farmers that bring us this quality homegrown food. Hope you all have a great weekend.....imma bout to stomp a mud hole in this watermelon.

The OG Broncnutz-

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This farmers market looks awesome ! So Basically you have an organic supermarket there right across the street with all fresh food ! That sound like something I would want to wake up to each day ! Thanks for sharing :)

It's so nice really! It's a big market, the pictures don't really do it justice.....and your right.....it's literally about 100 steps from my front door!

I really love these kind of markets. I bet the food is awesome, but also the social aspect of meeting people and knowing who made the things you buy. Today in a supermarket you will have to look around for quite a while before You get some assistance ..

Your so right. The actual farmers are here selling this stuff. I know most f them because it's the same people for almost 10 years now. They are really nice.....and if you go down there right before they pack up for the day at 3pm the deals are so good it's almost free.

That is cool, hopefully we can be seeing more of these kinds of markets in the future!

I feel this wonderful smell) I'm sure these products are of excellent quality!

In a couple weeks is our annual Chilie Roast off. Literally about 100 roasting kettles gong off at the same time all day long. Acres and acres of green Chilies get roasted in one day and scooped up fast by people who love them. The smell is so unbelievably good you have to be here to truly explain. Thanks for the reply! 😎

@broncnutz - Sir, love your work & I hope you enjoyed it well. Fresh food are hard to find at this time Sir. So this is a great opportunity. Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [ReSteemed & UpVoted]

Thank you as always for the re Steem! Nothing better than fresh food my man.

@broncnutz,
Wow that's a great experience! You just reminds me a weekly market that we have in our town! Great experience and thanks for sharing with us! Really appreciate your effort my dear friend!

Cheers~

i love farmers markets , only problem their prices is like x3 from prices in supermarkets, but ye at least i feel that its vegetables not some paper ;d
Gogo broncos vs chargers!!

These prices here are actually a lot cheaper than the supermarket. They have huge bags you can buy and fill with as much as you can fit in it for 10 bucks.

Were those peaches from Grand Junction and did they have any sweet corn from Olathe? You are living the good life my friend. Get yourself a few ice cold Coors banquet beers to wash down those chilies!

The corn we sell here is grown here.....we grow just as good of sweet corn as they do in Kansas!

i love farmers market Cause am vegetarian :)

i visit her Farmer market Daily . this Market also looking awesome Thanks for sharing .

wow beautiful.

I just upvoted your last post to help you get going. Hehe....welcome to Steemit. 🤑

thank you dear friend.

Wow roasted Chilies awesome shoots this time complete market review :) Really enjoyed open area with you.Thanks for sharing with us Keep it up

I love Farmer's Markets and I want a bushel of those chili peppers! Are you using them to make chili for all of the Broncos games? I can't wait to sit with a big ol' bowl of chili and to watch my beloved (but terrible) Bears!

Oh yea we make Green Chilie on the regular in Colorado. It's severed in just about every single restaurant here.

wow so beautiful photography,great sharing

lovely photographs sir, i really like your vegetables market really cool, clean and calm, upvoted and resteemed thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the re Steem! Glad you enjoyed the post.

Farmers, Base of every country bcoz without farming you can't imagine to survive

Excellent article and a good adventure @broncnutz, especially pleases the abundance of farmers in the market and their harvests, and peaches in buckets and called "Try Me" :)

What does this only sign means?

It means I'm very happy :)

I have first time seen purple chilies. Its amazing. Beautiful and well organised markets of honey bee.

The honey they sell over there is really the hidden jewel of the whole market. It tastes incredible.

Ohh I see, nice to know about it. In my farm house last year there was two honey bee house my father take the honey bee from that at that time i taste the pure honey bee. that's taste yummy.

Nice to have all this right "around the corner". Fresh stuff every weekend. Are those Pueblo Chilies just as spicy as the Red ones?

The Pueblo chiles are the hot ones. Those red ones are hot but not that bad. Probably a little less hot than your average Jalapeño pepper.

Ok, like them hot, can you ship me a container? hahaha

In the first picture those are chillies ? That's insane !!!

Yea those are Called Big Jim Chilies. They are not to hot but they have super good flavor.

Looks so Yummie, beautiful and natural, great pics OG!

Thank you sir.

amigo #resteemia at your service

very useful article & thanks for sharing @broncnutz

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

wow it's nice to hear that you liike green vegetables, that's awesome and the shots of veggies are also great, thanks for sharing upvoted and resteemed to my followers too.

Thanks for the re Steem. I pretty much love all veggies. 😜

Fire up the grill...the tailgate supplies are on their way. Good eatin'.

I'm ready cuz! Fresh salad and salsa.....steaks on the grill and good ole American College Football is the only thing on my todo list today.

oh nice even a cheese section, great farm market lookin fresh

happy to see a market in another country..its sort of in a different style than in our country..anyway thanks for sharing this experience with us :)

I'm sure our markets are much different style than most other.

nice and clean i am sure the quality must be excellent as well..

Man that looks like a real farmers market. This summer we've been going to the veil farmers market and it's a little pricey. The produce is locally grown and there's lots of art for sale.

This market is cheaper than the stores.

Awesome. This looks like a great place. I might be in Denver at the end of the month. If I do I will have to check this place out

It's a little far if your in Denver.....this market is 65 miles south of Denver.

Oh well I have a friend in Colorado Springs I was thinking about seeing as well as Aurora

Colorado has many things to offer :D it was great to see so many things,quality is what matters at last and these local farmers provide that with the finest of them all :)

love visiting farmers markets - try to hit up at least one each weekend! we definitely don't have chillis like those in nova scotia lol

These Chilies will make you miss them when you don't have any. I wish you could try em and smell what this is like when they are roasted in the open air.

Fresh post. Nice to have all this right "around the corner". Are those Pueblo Chilies just as spicy as the Red ones?

The red ones not that hot. Pueblo Chilies are hot

you made us hungry buddy hahah time to find a market and support the local community :)

Now your talkin!

Wow....a great series of pics of those organic vegetables and fruits....by @broncnutz

I can still remember once i ordered apple cider vinegar from US and it was quite good...

I love those chilies as well...

Thank you got this post...steem on & stay blissful....

😊

I love a good Farmers Market @broncnutz as I live in a farming province, but the markets where you are have much better weather and I wish we had those chillies, they look awesome. Support the farmers! :-D

French bakery has many things i loved that thanks for sharing this

I love Farmer's Markets and I want a bushel of those chili peppers! Are you using them to make chili for all of the Broncos games? I can't wait to sit with a big ol' bowl of chili and to watch my beloved (but terrible) Bears!

yeah it's a great work for us ....i love their work.

Awesome post @broncnutz

Upvoted and resteemed

My big salutation sir @broncnutz.. 😊🤗

Actually, this is my life idea too.. I'm always trying to buy some fresh fruits and vegetables from the farmers.. We are giving greater support to them from it.. I really happy about your great work.. So, upvoted.. 😊👌👍

Wow!!! Beautiful post,,,,,,,,,

Roasted chilli flakes are an absolute essential for me when i'm cooking!! The extra flavor is heaven man!! I'll put is in everything...chicken...fish...veg even mashed potatoes!! Oh yes, you should definitely try adding it to mashed potatoes!!

I put these chiles on everything as well. Awesome flavor

Seems like we have similar tastes haha xD xD

I see a time when the farmer will not need to live in a lonely cabin on a lonely farm. I see the farmers coming together in groups. I see them with time to read, and time to visit with their fellows. I see them enjoying lectures in beautiful halls, erected in every village. I see them gather like the Saxons of old upon the green at evening to sing and dance. I see cities rising near them with schools, and churches, and concert halls, and theaters. I see a day when the farmer will no longer be a drudge and his wife a bond slave, but happy men and women who will go singing to their pleasant tasks upon their fruitful farms. When the boys and girls will not go west nor to the city; when life will be worth living. In that day the moon will be brighter and the stars more glad, and pleasure and poetry and love of life come back to the man who tills the soil.

This market is very pleasant, and can provide vegetable and fruit baggage.
Thanks
@broncnutz

Your really life, live , enjoy is great. looking photo of food center. 100% like and resteem

That's one hell of a farmers market. Would love having some of those chilis.

Nice idea and smart post by @broncnutz
I'm from Sri L anka..Sri Lanka is agricultural country.
Our farmers always hardwork im their farms...
And their create food to the world...
I always respect to farmers....
Upvoted...
Cheers~~~~

Hello @broncnutz
Can you Tell me The Fix location of this Farmers Market ? Looking Awesome Fruits is my Crush in this Market :)

It's on Colorado Ave & 24th street in Colorado Springs. Only n Saturday's from 8am till 1 pm

Okay Thank You @broncnutz

Thank you, happy weekend. Now, I want to eat pancakes with honey :-). Excellent support for small farmers, here we have good productions also in a future I will write about it. I leave here a link to support this initiative @votovnzla https://steemit.com/spanish/@votovzla/1er-concurso-mi-presentacion-con-votovzla. How do you eat the chiles in the team?

fresh food is always great for health :) and in this market all food looks fresh :)

That looks like a market i would visist for shure :)

Have you seen my Bunghole? My people; we are without Bungholes...

Why o why without bungholes :'(

The streets will flow with the blood of the non-believers...

There are 2 pages
Pages