You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fame Or Farming: An Opportunity For Those Looking To Farm

in #farming5 years ago

Seems to be a common thread that more and more young people are on a "look at ME" track rather than a "look what I can DO" track. And fame seems far more attractive to them than when I was a kid. Actually, there's no way I want to be "famous."

I don't know if you read @onceuponatime, but he's often advocating organic niche farming (which can be very labor intensive) as a way for us to address job losses due to automation... they question is, do people want to get their hands in the dirt? Personally... I'd be happy to.

The challenge, of course, is that so many people are struggling financially, and so cheap food is more important to them than good food.

Meanwhile, where's I'm not a farmer, I'm sitting with much the same situation, being 58 and pretty much with no retirement plan in place because... well, I never made enough money cover more than the basics.