Summertime Slavness

in #fashion6 years ago

33647240_364907737246986_7378640191168184320_n.jpg


While I scramble around searching for my niche and working on posts that will be more than merely expanded shit posting or trying to get a hashtag going I'll do a spin on a post of a friend of mine @dumar022 ( and @oldguyphotos did it too! Go check him out. You may be surprised! )

I recently discovered my Slavic side. Or should I say, rediscovered? It's easy in this day and age to emerge yourself into American pop culture that is very dominant in Europe. You go on the internet and, especially if you have some geekish or activists interests, you tend to visit American blogs and sites. The Meme culture is predominantly American. So are the popular Instagram accounts and, I assume, vine and Snapchat are too. As a Slavic person, you can feel like an outsider. So I found a few great sites like for example Slavic Affairs and Slavorium. They have their spin-offs like say Squatting Slavs or Babushka. If you are a Slavic person I encourage you to go and visit them. It's remarkable when you see how relatable some things are and how much in common we Slavs have.


33693365_364907443913682_976093088235651072_n.jpg


How do Slavs connect with footwear you ask? Well, there is this urban legend that there is a secret connection between Adidas and Slavs. We as a tribe apparently like ''dukse'' and those lovely Adidas Gazelle shoes every gym teacher ever wore in the '90.es. I mean, considering how much we appreciate everything that is German it's should come as no surprise. My husband @alktoni wrote about some glorious vintage Adidas sportswear he owns. Here's also where my compadre Dumar comes in. He wrote about Adidas footwear that made a huge comeback: Šlape ( I contacted an English professor and she says you spell Šlape that way in English) Shlahpeh. Or as you probably know it Adidas Duramo Slide. It was such a fun post completed with some SteemShuter photos he took with his iPhone (If you have an iPhone I highly recommend it. It's a Steemit optimized photo app you can get at your Store. So cool) Anyway @oldguyphotos made a lovely spin on it but with his favourite footwear: Crocs.


33616517_364907407247019_1143499183878045696_n.jpg


I'm a huge sucker for Crocs. I got mine, as I do most of my stuff: as a hand-me-down. They are super quality and really durable. They are also comfy. They are also the ultimate kid shoe because they are easy to maintain and dry quickly but as Dumar noticed, not many grownups wear it in Croatia. Mine have been eaten by rabbits and dogs. They have been by me in hospitals. I have them for like three years now. And, besides being half-eaten, they are in great shape and I wear them throughout the year.

As I stated before, Slavs have this odd fixation on all things German but I personally, even though I am a huge fan of Germany, prefer Borovo and their shoes. One of the greatest things Slavic is copies of original Adidas and other sportswear. And there you were thinking it was uniquely Chinese issue :) So last summer I got some super cool slides from Borovo that are a painfully obvious forgery of the Duramos. They are the same colour as my Crocs. Red rubber is what faith had in mind for me. The problem is, as forgeries do, they fell apart instantly. I packed them away and forgot about them but thanks to Dumar I'll give them a chance of new life with a help of a glue gun. I'm not really sure if that is the greatest idea ever but it's worth a shot.


33509546_364907730580320_5175217351506788352_n.jpg


What footwear do you find comfortable? Slides? Crocs? Flip Flops? Or is barefoot your go-to option? I like barefoot the best.

Sort:  

I just use common patika vulgaris . but addidas ofc :D

Borovo is the only acceptable alternative to Addidas for a true Croatian Slav.