My first attempt at fashion illustration...

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,
I recently got a new iPad aswell as the Apple Pencil which I have been trying to get for quite a while now. I cannot explain how good the stylus actually is, its pressure sensitivity, fine point and long lasting battery has really helped me improve on using apps such as Procreate, which is the app I used to create the image below.

8227DBB6-9488-4023-84F7-D3937BAD4D38.jpeg

I follow someone on instagram called Hayden Williams, who also does fashion illustration, I had been following him for quite a while, and decided i wanted to have a go. I love how his images end up looking like Bratz dolls because when I was little i used to love them much more than Barbie dolls, and I would often try to draw them. I love the way that Hayden Williams takes other people, and turns them into Bratz dolls too. I used a picture that he drew of Rihanna as reference, and tried my best to use similar techniques to get an outcome which looked Comparable to his illustration. At first it was very hard to find what brushes and sizes aswell as opacity worked best, but in the end i think it worked out quite well.

96281CAC-66C2-48DE-92DD-424BB382CAC0.png

57DDC324-6144-45D7-837C-28B8586B5720.jpeg
Here is Hayden Williams original drawing ( which is also on his instagram ) that I used as reference. As you can see, the poses and clothes are literally identical, but copying things is an excellent way to learn how to draw, especially as this was my first attempt.

C1E7DBCB-9A88-4FE5-862A-F19A30879A8E.png
Here is a close up of the face, which was my favourite part to do. I really liked doing the eyshadodow and the eyebrows. After a couple of attempts i learnt how to make things look glittery and shiny, so I decided to add the same effect to her dress and I’m super proud of it.

Thanks for reading and thank you all for 100 followers!
One love ✌️☮️

Sort:  

You got a 13.80% upvote from @slimwhale courtesy of @prometheus21!

Did you know you can make a passive income by simply delegating steem power?
@slimwhale offers the best return on your investment, sharing 100% of the bidding pool rewards, daily, proportional to your investment.
Let's grow together, start earning now by clicking the following links: 10SP, | 50SP | 500SP, | any amount |
For more information, see here or join me on Discord

I know how challenging it can be sometimes to learn a new application. The fashion illustration of Rihanna looks great. Keep on glittering codyallen :)

I’m just going to keep practicing as much as i can :) Thank you for the comment! Really appreciate it :D