A Textile Rainbow; the joys of upcycled vintage sari silk....

in #fashion6 years ago

Texture and color are two of my greatest pleasures in life.  When I go clothing shopping (usually at a thrift store) I put my hand into the hanging garments and walk down the row, when my hand passes a texture I find delicious I stop and gaze at its color.  If I love its hue, then we are a match!



These same principles and aesthetics apply to items I design and curate for my shop.  I consider my items Sacred Adornment, and I want people to feel REALLY good when wearing them.  I also strive toward high integrity in terms of the environmental impact of my creations.  



These silk kimonos are an example of my favorite creations.  They are so silky soft, and obviously gorgeous colors and patterns.  They are made from vintage silk saris from kimonos; they are upcycled, taking something that would otherwise become trash into a true heirloom quality treasure.  



Each item is truly one of a kind, as each one is constructed from a vintage sari.  The texture of the silk, pattern and color will never be repeated again.  



My crafting business is a form of creative meditation for me, and also a right livelihood that brings income to our family while we live with nature in the woods.  



My business name is Elkemi Creations.  Elkemi is a hybrid of my name, Elke, and the word Alchemy.  

If you would like to see my etsy shop please check out ELKEMI and feel free to use the code CRAFT10 for a discount if you should decide to treat yourself!



I will be bringing more and more content and creations over to Steemit, but in the mean time feel free to follow me on Instagram @elkemi_creations for more color and creative content.  


Thank you for checking out my creations!



Sort:  

These are so beautiful!

Thank you! I made 40 in this batch, and it is a pleasure to see how beautiful the textile color/pattern each one is <3