[fashion] Anian - Every day wear.

in #fashion7 years ago

I live in Vancouver and if you're from here, you know it rains, a lot. If you're not from here, one of the only things you probably know is; it rains here, a lot. I don't mind the rain in the winter, it's kind of romantic, but humans aren't made to be cold and wet...

Visiting Victoria, BC

About a year ago I was visiting Victoria. My wife and I had gone to the island for a quick getaway, eat some good food and drink fine beer. Last year, BC had record breaking rain (29/31 days of rain in October) and I had been wearing my RAINS jacket quite a bit. They are well made and keep you dry, but are not warm, and barely breathable.

This particular weekend in Victoria was very cold and very windy. We were staying downtown and decided to boot around to do some shopping, I was FREEZING. We were between shopping neighborhoods looking for a brewery when we stumbled upon this man standing outside sipping a drink in front of what looked like a surf shack that was dropped in the middle of a fishermans warf.

I've been surfing quite a few times on the island and have always been drawn to the skate-surf-style clothing. I decided to see what this spot was all about. It is an open concept store (literally; no windows, doors, insulation) and the guy was just wearing a button up shirt, a light vest, and a toque, standing in the rain, smiling. Meanwhile, I was in a base layer, sweater, and my rains jacket, freezing my ass off. He welcomed us in and told us about the product.

For starters, you should all visit their website, cause its beautiful. TL;DR: their stuff is made in Canada with super high-quality melton wool.

The Claims


As I was poking around, he was telling us a bit about their story, their product, why it works, and how it works.

He wasn't pushy, but he was making some big claims. He told us that he has been wearing this shirt for a year, every single day. He's been camping in it, hiking, biking, late nights at the beach, wears it as a jacket in the spring and fall, and a base layer in the winter. He explained it's an all natural fibre, doesn't hold odor, keeps you warm, dry, and is breathable. It is the same material the British Navy used to wear.

Woah. Here is a guy, trying to sell me a product, that he is telling me you can wear every single day for a year and will stay the same quality as the day you buy it. In a fast fashion world, where I feel like I am constantly buying 20$ pieces and throwing them out 6 months later, this guy is telling me I can buy one thing and wear it for life, in all the places and activities I enjoy being in.

I was skeptical to say the least, and with a $165 price tag...I wasn't convinced. I tried a couple on when I was in the store and was warm for the first time that day their no windows/doors/insulation approach worked, cause if you work there, you are probably wearing one of these and are enjoying the fresh air.

I walked away and had to think about it. We went for a beer and I could not help but keep going back to that warm feeling of when I had it on in the store. Safe to say, I went back and bought one.

One Year Later

I have now owned this shirt for one year and I am here to tell you, all the claims he made, are true. This thing is amazing. I have worn it almost every day for a year. I wear it with my work clothes as an over shirt (I wear a shirt and tie every day to work), camping, biking, hiking, it can be dressed up, dressed down, and best of all, is warm but breathable. I have buttoned and unbuttoned it every single day for a year, not one button has come loose. I have dropped it in mud, had fish guts on it, chased a bear away in it (see below), sat on it for warmth at the top of a mountain, slept in it camping, and it doesn't smell, hold stains, and still looks like it did the day I bought it. This thing rocks. I receive compliments daily, people always asking where I got it, even after they've seen me wear it for 200 days straight, they continue to tell me they like it. A rare occurance for someone who tries to stay with new trends.

Final thoughts

I can't wait to buy another one. I really have no need to, cause this one is still perfect but I want to support this brand. I have bought a few for my friends and will continue to spread the stoke any way I can.

A brand that is honest, works hard for your money, and produces quality, deserves all the accolades in a world that is so focused on gaining as much fast cash as possible. We need to continue to support brands that are not filling our landfills and are making items that encourage people to make things last. This is quality

Go buy one, you will NOT regret it.

Citation:
Img1
Img2: My own