#StyleQuest1: Should I Match My Socks With My Pants Or My Shoes?

in #fashion7 years ago

One of the top questions regarding men's style I have to answer as a Personal Stylist is this one: should I match my socks with my pants or with my trousers? Well, it depends on who you are asking to. Or what kind of vibe you want to portray. I explain: According to the golden rule of thumb, if you want a sure classic look, match yours socks with your trousers. Full stop. And yes, it should be in the same color and the same shade of it. For instance, if you are wearing blue navy pants your socks should be blue navy or at least a shade very close to it and not any shade of blue, like light blue.

business-2049312_1280.jpg
Image: Pixabay

Having said that, there are some fashionistas who believe that you can match your socks with your shoes. It is not the classical approach nor the contemporary one. Just an option to go for whenever you feel up to, breaking slightly the classical rule. It does not look as much polished though but still...

And yes, there is a more modern way to actually break this rule and yet, remain in the classical range: wearing socks in a shade just a little lighter. One, two or three shades lighter. Or darker. You will still look classic but with an edge.

brown-leather-shoes-1842606_1280.jpg
Image: Pixabay

Speaking of an edge... if your intention is to walk on the fun side of fashion, nowadays you can ditch the rule and get away with it betting on fun socks, a.k.a. colorful socks that don't match neither your pants nor your shoes. For example, if you are wearing a gray trousers, white shirt, brown shoes you can wear purple socks just because. If your shirt, tee or your tie is the splash of color in your look, you can coordinate your socks with it. In the same shade or not.

And you can apply any of those options to any dress code: from casual to business to formal. It is up to you. And your style.

By the way, I will be answering the top style questions regarding men's style in a series of posts from now on, every now and then. If you want some answers to your style questions, stay tuned and follow me @missfernandes

In the meantime, let me know if you match your socks with your pants or with your shoes in the comments below. I am dying to know.

Sort:  

@missfernandes, I have never been a great executor of classic fashion.

Thanks for helping out the men of Steemit look better for the significant others in our lives.


Do you have a discordapp.com account yet?
If so, send me a message and I will send you a link to my Steem Markdown course. You can find me there at @sumatranate.

I do not. I will have a look though. Thanks.

I wear white NB shoes with various color socks in day time. Thanks for the classic tips

You are welcome. And thank you for letting me know.