On Becoming Titi Macaulay Series: The Transition

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

image
Image source: Titi Macaulay

I started the #onbecomingTitiMacaylay series two posts ago. After the decision to go public with my ready-to-wear plans. I put together my profits of the year 2017, and started the production of my first ready-to-wear collection. Unfortunately, I chose a difficult technique of production and an amateur textile designer. Months after months, nothing was ready.

I finally opted for a plan B, started to work on a new concept with literature as my inspiration. After one month, illustrations were ready both rough sketches and computer-aided designs. Spent another two weeks playing around with the colors of the fabric and prints of each planned outfit. As soon as I got my desired colour scheme right, it was time to shop. I wrote out my budget and I screamed! Where would I get this kind of money from. It was a huge amount of money. This was just for fabric shopping with photography, labor, publicity excluded. I went through my estimate about a million times, struck out the designs I felt might not be necessary. The total was fair but it was still a lot. I didn't have any money left but I had my credibility. Turned this into an asset and I discussed with a couple of friends who were eager to lend me till I was ready to pay back. One even surprisingly donated, it is the biggest surprise of my life from the most unexpected person in my life. It was too good to be true. I got enough money to go fabric shopping and I discarded the thought that I had no money for photography and the rest.

I spent the entire shopping day dealing with yaba problematic fabric dealers and motivating my textile designer that we could achieve the task I just designed. 'Titi, I have never produced this kind of prints before'. He told me, in a worrisome tone. I made him understand that we could do it.

Two days later, a man called me, describing himself as a photographer who did a shabby job for me about two years ago. He explained that he had been searching for me for a while now. Luckily for him, he ran into my sister at a make up studio. He could recognize her because I brought her with me to his studio, on the day I worked with him. He said he wanted to rectify that mistake. And he was willing to organize a free shoot for me. I was in shock. I couldn't think, so I lied that I was somewhere and I couldn't talk, that I would call him back when I was settled. That day, I understood the statements people make about God's faithfulness. This man was offering a free deal at a time I needed it the most. I called him back and we decided to meet. During the meeting, I explained to him that my priority shoot at that moment was a huge one. And I don't mind adding some money so it won't look like I wanted to rip him off. He said to me in words I would never forget, "Titi, when I called you that I wanted to do a free shoot for you, I meant every word, it doesn't matter how many". Trust me, he is not a broke photographer or a novice in his field. Lord knows that deep in my heart, I had fainted though I maintained a very serious look. Quickly we discussed the story behind the collection and the befitting shoot concept. We struck a date for the shoot. End of story. Not only did this man do an amazing job, he perfomed beyond my imagination.
It was time to pay models and my make up artist, I was stuck again but those mountains were moved.

Long story short, that was how my new collection #twistedtulips became ready for display. Stay tuned, stay locked on this page as these magic of this so-hyped collection is revealed.

You could also journey with us on our social media pages as we reveal these awesome pieces.
image
Image source: Titi Macaulay

And watch out for the On Becoming Titi Macaulay Series: Dealing with stockists.

Sort:  

Wow titi, you are you!
A whole lot in one.
You know what you wanted, and you went for it. You didnt allow the situation around you bring you down. You are beautiful, you are special, you are you and you can achieve all you want baby. To the world baby😘😘💖

Hey @rebeccafl, aren't you the sweetest lady on earth! Thanks a million dear

Congratulations @titimac! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @titimac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!