Be Unique! Get Noticed! Give Your Old Shoes New Life! Alter your Wardrobe in the Most Retro Way

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

P1010582.jpg

Here we have the most basic shoes which every girl owns in her closet. They are all the same and frankly boring. I am always complimented on these shoes and all it took was 5 minutes and about a dollar.

You know when you get new shoes, especially white shoes and then try to keep them looking good for as long as possible. Well, I was doing just that until I was trapped in a storm and water was running down the streets and enveloping my shoes with mud and grass. I won't lie, I was quite upset that my white pearls were not so white anymore.

After a lot of patience and scrubbing, until my hands fell off, I was able to get their white color back. I was so disappointed that my white laces were stained and they were having no luck. I did not want to be caught outside with nicely tinted brown laces so I had to think of an alternative.

P1010585.jpg

Clueless about what to do next, I went into my room and just starting looking around. Before my eyes, I found this cord - a thin rope - which seemed to be a possible solution to my situation. I got it from working a week on a boat the previous summer. PS being seasick​ is not fun.

I took my new found rope and decided to just see what it would look like as shoe-laces on my converse. At first, ​my mom thought it was funny and said it was interesting. This meant that it is weird. I am not going to lie, I felt a little torn down by that as I thought I really liked them. If we fast-forward now to a few months later, this has become one of my most signature pieces. Whenever people see them, they always think it is very creative and I think it really makes a lot of outfits go together better. I like pairing it with ripped jeans such as these

P1010615.jpg

I would usually roll them up a little higher to give it more of an edgy look, but I guess I overlooked that today. I hope you enjoyed this little do it yourself idea in style because I have had so much fun with it and totally recommend for you to try and give a pair of your old shoes a makeover.

Check Out Some Of my Other Work Below:
The Three Stages of LOVE you MUST KNOW
I love my Macro Photogrpahy
My Little Brother Best Friend PHOTO
On a Mountain in the Snow PHOTO
High Contrast B&W photo, MY OBSESSION​ PHOTO