Fasting Journal : 032719 EIF Week 02 Wednesday Feast

in #fasting5 years ago

Had to go to a 2MAD again today. I just can't sit down and eat that much food at once.

You might say, "Well, Bill... don't eat so much."

And that would be a good point if I was eating every day. But if I stuck to 1500 calories (which is about how much I can easily eat) Monday, Wednesday and Friday, that means my long term daily average is really about 650 calories, low enough to put me in calorie restriction (starvation mode), which lowers your metabolism and leads to muscle wasting.

I really need to be at close to 5000 calories, three days a week, that's 15000/7 = about 2000 per averaged day. Since my BMR is now close to 3000, that still leaves me in a 1000 calorie/day deficit, but my body (which is not good at math) thinks that I have excess calories because of the huge meals (and so doesn't scavenge protein), but then I have long periods (48-72 hours) with no food, so it continues to try to burn fat.

But clearly I can't do 5000 a day, not even in two meals, maybe not in three. So I try to get 3000. 3000x3=9000/7=about 1300 averaged. That's a greater than 50% calorie deficit, but the meals are still large enough to trick my body into thinking I have plenty of food. No need to scavenge calories from my muscles.

And, of course, even if I can't do that much, my body still knows that I have plenty of body fat to burn. I tend to forget that but my body won't.

Which is all preamble to me saying that I had bacon eggs and steak, with kefir. And then later had more eggs with cheese and bone broth. Tomorrow is the Thursday Fast.