Fasting Journal : 032819 EIF Week 02 Thursday Fast

in #fasting5 years ago

Holding strong on the fast, but really feeling some hunger today. I'm probably going to bed early just to make it easier. I keep finding myself in the kitchen looking in the fridge.

Water and salt.

Ooo... just remembered that I do have to go in the kitchen and set out the frozen meats to thaw for tomorrow.

Also just realized that part of the reason I'm being triggered is that I have a dern pot of bone broth cooking on the stove. No wonder.

Oh well, I just keep reminding myself that I can eat tomorrow.

Sort:  

I've cooked my beef feet broth down into glue. Not sure how well I will absorb it versus having a lot more water in it, but I aim to find out. I've also been spiking my broth with heavy salt, potassium chloride, and glycine. Which leads me to a question about potassium I'm hoping you might know about: I've seen conflicting info regarding potassium to salt ratios. James Dinicholantonio (sp?) seems to indicate that LOTS of salt is no problem and he hardly even mentions potassium in his book The Salt Fix except to say that some people's kidneys have trouble processing potassium chloride and it can lead to problems like too much potassium in the blood and toxicity. Others say that you should be having as much as 16X potassium to sodium. Frank Tufano says to avoid salt because of the potassium ration issue. Eric Berg says you should be getting it from vegetables and that isn't an option for me. Have you tried other forms of potassium like citrate? Wondering about absorption/processing in the body, taste, or any other thoughts you might have on the subject.

I use a small amount of potassium chloride salt, and magnesium/potassium asporotates. I've been reading and watching everything I can on the subject and it's all contradictory. I do think the 1400 units that Berg talks about is for people who are dealing with too much insulin and carbs, and he hasn't taken that into account.

All I know for certain is that if I don't take my supplements, I get leg cramps at night. I had it checked while that was happening and my serum potassium was low. I took the asporotates and tested again and it was better.

I'm glad to know I'm not alone in not having the answer to this. Please ping me if you get more info on the subject and I'll do the same for you.

Why asporotates? Im seeing in a bulletproof forum that people are dosing fairly high with citrate without problems. Are you taking this? https://www.amazon.com/Solaray-Magnesium-and-Potassium-Asporotates-with-Bromelain-Supplement-120-Count/dp/B00013Z1S2/ref=dp_csx_sw_pr_csd_0 Or are you taking the pills seperately?

Yes, exactly those. I forget where I read that they were adequate, but I do recall that the citrates were not available at my favorite shop. I should probably look into it again, I've been going like this for about three years. I mean, I feel good and cramps are not happening, and my blood work is good, but it never hurts to try something else now and then.

Well, unless I get cramps again. Those suckers really hurt.