What was the most devastating moment of your life?

in #fatty4 years ago (edited)

The day I came to know that I suffer from a Liver disease.

mountains-nature-sunset-summer-91224.jpg

Yes , 7 months ago I felt something strange on my abdomen or should I say inside my abdomen. It was on the right side, something inside was getting enlarged every minute. I straight away knew that something was not right. A trip to the doctor and an ultrasound scan later was all it took to confirm that I indeed had a problem. My Liver it was not healthy. I was diagnosed with early fatty liver (non - alcoholic). That was the most devastating moment I ever faced in my life. I thought that was the end. Everything I knew and enjoyed would cease to exist or more like I would not be in their presence. I thought I would die.

I was 32 years old.

I am skinny for almost my entire life. I never thought eating junk foods would cause a problem for me. One thing I knew was that my body burnt a lot of calories. I am an ectomorph, meaning it is hard for me to gain fat. I had a great fondness for sweet food. This was my weakness. I used to stock up sweets of all kinds at home and the times when I get hungry my hands would go for a bite on one of these. But boy was I wrong.

It wasn't healthy. Thinking back I regret eating all those junk foods.

But after consulting with several doctors and with their good advice I have now changed my lifestyle a little bit.

If someone is facing a similar situation, I urge you to do the following to start changing today. The good thing about the Liver is that it can regenerate if the bad source is taken off. Meaning in my case the sweetened junk foods. (If you have alcoholic fatty liver then cut off alcohol totally to recover and of course maintain a healthy diet).

  • Exercise for 30 mins at the minimum
    This could be a good paced walk or something that makes your body move like dancing or weight lifting.

  • Eat carrots, beet roots and other red veggies
    Those are good and helps the liver recover

  • Keep the body hydrated
    Enough so that you don't feel thirsty

  • Eat your food on time
    If you don't then when you feel really hungry the digestive acids can attack your liver

  • Eat nuts like almonds or walnuts
    Nuts contain good fats that are beneficial for the liver

With this diet and a bit of exercise I am now have a bit of control back of my body. I disrespected it before but not anymore.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ashwinpremnath! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!