A Recipe For Courage

in #fear5 years ago

Sometimes I think we're a cowardly generation unworthy of our ancestor's names. Too many of us lack the courage to chase our dreams, because we're afraid we will fail to realise them. Too few of us are brave enough to do the right thing, because we fear the consequences of doing so in a world that too often demands the wrong thing from us. We're afraid even to be ourselves in most cases, or to befriend those who have chosen to live in authenticity, because we'd rather fit in to a group and feel accepted, than face the world feeling alone.

We all have the potential to be courageous. Even the weakest of men will be empowered with bravery in a perilous situation. But we have been pacified. We do not see that we are in a perilous state of affairs right now, and therefore, we see no need to search within ourselves for the power to face our fears. Perhaps though, there is another recipe for courage - one that need not require an impending doom hovering over us or our loved ones in order to be excited.

With that said, I would like to share my method for sourcing courage. It is a method I use whenever I feel that fear is attempting to dictate my decisions, and it has proven to be very effective for me. Perhaps it can be for you too.

Trust

Call it trust or call it faith, it matters not. But belief in a higher power, and in its benevolence, is a very useful tool in overcoming fear. It needn't be God, or nature. It could simply be humanity as a whole. If one believes that we are heading somewhere good, then all the bad shit that has happened along the way, or that may happen to them personally in the future, becomes a meaningful sacrifice - not something to be feared.

Humility

How many people have lived and died, and how many still live and will die, and how many are yet to be born, and yet to die? The answer is billions if not trillions. What happens to you, whether it be good or bad, in the grand scheme of things, is not important. Whatever hardships you think you may have suffered, or whatever pain you fear you may experience in the future, the chances are that more than a billion people have suffered worse, or will suffer worse. You're not alone in your suffering, and if all these others could endure what they did, then why can't you?


Be humble enough to accept that you're merely one of a great, great many, most of whom have gone through the same or similar shit that you have, and be faithful enough to trust that we went through and are going through this shit for a good reason, and you'll have no reason to fear. In my opinion, fear is almost an arrogant sensation, borne of the belief that what happens to you is important. But really, it's not. Because you aren't important, and neither am I. It is we that is important. And embracing this understanding will undoubtedly provide you with the balls to make the choices you want to make, in spite of the potential consequences that may befall you as an individual.

Sort:  
Loading...

I wrote you on discord....just thinking of you my always brother- xo.

Congratulations @lordless.exile! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey my beautiful friend, trying to reach you, hope your current state of affairs is amazing- catch up with me on discord

So what the fuck u decided that me not having changed passwords because I trusted u not to be a thieving cunt somehow gave u the right to brake into my account steal funds and power down with intentions of just cleaning me out??

Whatever pennies were on the account at the time u originally "gifted" the account ( or was this the original idea behind your helpfulness?) I paid u back in magnitude when u made that post from @sonofanarchy or something like that about being skint and in shit about a year ago or bit more

Just the fact that u kept yourself the keys to the account shows a lot!

I concur with your sentiments on this post and it's been a while since I've heard from you, I hope you're okay!

I wanted to let you know that we finally finished judging at the IFC.

You scored at least one point during the season so you are eligible to play in the finals and compete for the grand prize of the crypto, artwork and crystal trophy if you want to.

I'm so sorry it took so long... A lot of crazy stuff has been happening in my life and the world in general.
Part of the delay has also been in relation to difficulty with finding judges on a budget and me improving the IFC in the future in other ways, so I'm definitely not giving up on this contest and I want to keep doing it in the future and I hope to address some of these issues and put more financial resources in regards to the prizes and such and more hopefully towards this idea/game if things work out well.

Right now I've set the date for the finals for November 28th, I'll probably make the post in the morning or afternoon mountain standard time if nothing changes and would be honored if you're still willing to play.
If that timeframe doesn't work for you, but you still want to play then let me know and maybe we can move things around a bit as I'd like to have more players if possible.

Once again I'm so sorry about the delay... I feel bad about it, though I do hope that we can still finish the season with at least two players?

Please let me know when you can if you think you'll be able to play on that date or not or if we should move things around a bit so I can figure things out more. Peace and much love! <3