You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcoming The Fear of Selling (FOS) - my way

in #fear4 years ago (edited)

This write up deserves more love, glad that sharing it in the Nat Med server made a difference and nice to see a comment from my dear friend @riverflows.

This is very important information and I learnt a fun fact or two about Hungarian in the process :<)

I have definitely been struggling with fear of selling. I am one of millions of people who got into crypto in 2017 ( May, to be precise ), not because I wanted to get rich quick but because I needed to drastically change my life around ( it worked ) and had been searching for a freedom that I never experienced inside the system.

I experienced the bull market and bought a bunch of coins at the wrong time ( especially XRP and some that don't even exist or lost most of their value ). Luckily I didn't have much to invest back then so I didn't lose too much.

In December 2018 I had some more money to invest and felt that we might have hit bottom, I bought at the right time. A couple of months later I had to sell ( as my newly acquired little house in Portugal needed renovations and a new roof ). I paid for the roof in Litecoin, even though I would have loved to hold longer. Litecoin went up from 20 to over 100 dollar back then and I guess I sold around 60. Selling crypto to pay for a new roof on my first ever house felt pretty awesome though.

I could go on and on with stories like these but let's say that it helps that I'm 100% into crypto ( if I don't count the value of my house ) and I am my own boss, full time writer, so I literally have to sell crypto in order to pay my bills and get food on the table.

This helped me to get over the fear of selling and to not feel too bad when the market pumps soon after a sell.

P.S. I am in the process of selling 25% of my BTC holdings right now ( and you gave me the last little kick behind the butt that I needed ), as I need some money to live on and just HODLing while I'm starving just won't do the trick.

I also trust that I can acquire more bitcoin later, with other coins ( mainly with Hive and possibly loads of Blurt that I am buying heaps of these days ). These days I feel that even if I'd lose it all ( worst case scenario ), I now have the knowledge to acquire and grow my crypto fortune from scratch, once again.

Crypto is the future and we're already there.

Sort:  

Wow, thank you for writing one of the nicest comments I can remember in the history of Hive (personally). It is always amazing when you get a comment with an actual story, personality, and real content! Thanks!

Haha, I remember buying Ripple back in 2017... I bought at 0,2 USD, and sold at 0,25 :) And then it went to 3 USD... anyway, did much worse things than that back in 2017, and seeing your portfolio go 10x in value, and then decrease 20x in value has been a demandful ride. But, I have learned a lot!

But, what you say about actually living from crypto, which forces you to sell continously, sounds actually quite wise and interesting. Just like you would buy gradually, selling gradually and contionously sounds like a wise thing to do!

I admire your lifestyle by the way, sounds interesting... and paying off your roof with crypto most be quite a feeling! :)

Now you inspired me to be more hardcore crypto with your writing. Thanks again, it was an amazing read!

Wow, thank you for writing one of the nicest comments I can remember in the history of Hive (personally). It is always amazing when you get a comment with an actual story, personality, and real content! Thanks!

Nice to hear this and you're welcome. Yeah, I like to make actual connections on here and a genuine comment is so much more valuable than a vote.

Your Ripple story is painful too. I bought a couple of 100 Euros of XRP when it was at its peak and had to sell when it was worth around 20 or 25 cents. Bought more afterwards though.

seeing your portfolio go 10x in value, and then decrease 20x in value has been a demandful ride. But, I have learned a lot!

Life and money lessons, indeed. Since I entered crypto, I have learnt so much. In fact it has re-awakened my love for learning, something I had lost after 21 years of being educated and 5 to 10 years as a teacher.

Glad I inspired you. Inspiring people is one of my main goals.

Have a great remainder of the weekend and feel free to drop by on my time line! I connect with those who interact with me ;<)