Featheredfriday June 21, 2019 - Soaked sparrows after heavy rain

20-06-2019 17-16-00.jpg

We had very heavy rain, with a bit of hail, for quite a few hours yesterday afternoon. It was pouring down hard without slowing down until the storm had moved on.

The birds always know when the rain is about to stop. It was still raining quite hard as they flew up to our feeder again. Some were soaking wet with their feathers all messed up and others were dry. The rain stopped just a few minutes after they started feeding again.

I apologize for the way these photos were taken. Our washing lines on our balcony are totally in the way, as is the top of the railing. I could not get any other shots done at that moment and simply wanted to capture those poor little birds.

20-06-2019 17-16-007.jpg

This little Sparrow boy was absolutely soaked. I hope he was able to get his feathers all sorted out again later.

20-06-2019 17-16-01.jpg

20-06-2019 17-16-07.jpg

The Sparrow girl that was feeding together with him was soaked badly as well.

20-06-2019 17-18-27.jpg

20-06-2019 17-14-34.jpg

This little girl was perfectly dry by the looks of it.

Even this morning I still saw wet Sparrows coming to the feeder, even though it had not rained anymore over night. But I guess the trees and bushes that they sat in got them wet again.

One of the trees in the garden is now totally broken. It had already been damaged last summer, by a bad storm that ripped off one of the big branches. Yesterday, the remaining branch could not carry the weight anymore and broke off as well. Interestingly, it happened after the storm was already over.

(Lumix) 20-06-2019 18-45-17.jpg

That's what we saw when we came out to the balcony again. One minute the branch was still up, and the other minute it was broken...

(Lumix) 20-06-2019 18-45-29.jpg

I'm not surprised though, that those twisted branches could not carry much weight and were weakened by how twisted they were anyway.

(Lumix) 20-06-2019 18-46-27.jpg

Here is the video from yesterday's rain: Dtube video

This is my entry for #featheredfriday which is managed by the awesome @melinda010100 :-)
Check out her lovely humming bird post HERE

Hope you all had a great week!
Happy Friday from the cats and me ;-)

Sort:  

Poor tree :( .. glad nothing bad happened to you .. that rain really hit that little sparrow .. I always find it amazing how accurately birds are able to read the weather .. I wish that I would be capable of it ;)

These are very nice shots of the birdies.
We had the same on Thursday - it was hammering down. Plum tree was broken the same way.
20190621_064635.jpg

Thank you!! :-)
Oh no! Poor tree!
Hope you're having a lovely Saturday! Without heavy rain and storms...

That's a beautiful garden you have there <3

I tried commenting on your sunset photos and the plane taking off into thunder clouds but it couldn't post.

"The first time I flew with a plane, I was going to Vienna from Sarajevo. It wasn't that scary, but I hoped we wouldn't enter such grim looking big clouds, and we didn't. I don't know, the thought alone of being inside a plane, and inside such clouds, makes me nervous :D"

Aww yes it's lovely to look out into the garden. The smell of the flowers at night is especially nice! It's not our garden though, it belongs to somebody else. But we get the nice view of it at least ;-)

I understand how it would make you nervous to be in a plane with bad weather lol. It's usually really safe though, even if it gets hit by lighting. Sorry you were not able to post the comment in my other post.

Thank you so much for your nice comment and for following!

You're still lucky to have that nice shots, while me aren't blessed with the right timing to take one, birds are afraid of cats and dogs at our backyard garden and tree trunks have kitties too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww! I'm definitely lucky. There are plenty of shots I will delete because they are blurry or the light is all wrong. I just take a whole lot of pictures if I take a picture of something. I just keep taking one after the other, and then there will be a couple of photos that are just right. The other thing that helps is that I can zoom right in with the lens I have on my camera, so I don't have to get close to them.

The birds got used to our cats and don't worry about them, because the cats never try to jump at them. Most of the time they just lie around on the balcony, totally relaxed while the birds feed. But the birds are worried about neighbourhood cats strolling by and they will fly off if they see one.

You take beautiful photos though! Love them ;-)

We have been getting far too much rain, too. You are right, they do know when the rain is about to stop and they come to the feeders while the rain is still coming down. Poor wet sparrows! Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday!

Seems the weather is very similar all over and has been for a while. First, there was clouds and cold for weeks, in Europe and the US, then the heat in Europe and the US and now the rain in Europe and the US lol!
It's been thundering here already since 8am. The forecast predicts thunderstorms throughout today and tomorrow.

Yes, the birds and all animals are really smart!

I'll probably get some interesting photos and videos from our river. The snowmelt from the mountains is coming down, and now all the rain is filling it up even more. So it's continually rising. No danger to us or the city, though, because they lowered the river bed far down, a long time ago for that very reason.
But there is a river walk down there and a construction site for a rainwater drain, which is all going to be flooded soon I guess. It happens every year.

Poor birds are going to be wet all over again today...
Have a wonderful weekend! :-)

The sun is out here, but rain and storms are expected again tonight, and tomorrow and Monday.....
I noticed you have a lot of Steem dollars in your wallet. Do you know how to trade them for Steem?
20 sbd will buy around 50 Steem. Simply click on the arrow beside your sbd amount and choose 'market'. On the left side where it is green, if there is a price in the top line for SBD/Steem it means the market is stable and you can buy. You can click on the green 'available' amount to sell it all, or enter the amount you want to sell on the bottom line/ SBD. That will calculate the amount of Steem you will be receiving on the center line. Click the free 'Buy Steem' button and that's it! You can then go back to your wallet to power it up!

Sounds just like our weather here lol.

Oh thank you! I got lucky with one featheredfriday post not too long ago. It was amazing lol.
Thank you so much for your advice @melinda010100 ! Thanks to your perfect description on how to do it, I was able to buy Steem with my SBD and power up! YAY! I had a look at it myself a while ago but felt unsure and worried I might do something wrong and mess it all up. It's much easier than I thought.

Awesome, thanks a lot! :-D

Right now is the perfect time to be buying Steem with your SBD. Once the price of Steem goes over $1 you will want to re-evaluate, but for now it pays to power up! I'm glad I could help!

Great! I used all my SBD to do it :-) You were definitely a great help! Without you I would have not even known that now is a great time to do it! Thank you again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

When Steem goes to $5 It will take approx 5SBD to buy 1 Steem so keep buying now whenever you can to get as much Steem as possible! It will become harder to get Steem, so take advantage of these low prices!

Nice yard :-)

Thank you! It's lovely for sure! It doesn't belong to us though. There are more gardens like this one in the middle of our block, some are communal and others belong to somebody.
The garden out front belongs to the family who used to own our apartment building. They still own the garden, but the building has been sold off a long time ago.

It's beautiful to look at and have all those birds visiting. The smell of the plants and flowers is awesome too.
Have a wonderful Caturday!

Beautifying a small plot in urban areas goes a long way to put smiles on people's faces :-)