Feathered Friday plus Bonus Beach Art

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

It was bright and sunny here today - perfect weather for a trip to the Esquimalt Lagoon Migratory Bird Sanctuary. All these photos were taken today.

If you love photographing birds as much as I do, I just know you have some great photos of your own to share. To participate in #FeatheredFriday and receive an upvote & resteem, please follow these simple steps:

  • Make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday
  • Comment below with a link to your post - This will get you a lot of extra exposure from the other participants. If you don't do this, I may accidentally miss your post because Feathered Friday is starting to get busy.
  • Consider using the #birding tag in order to connect to a wider community of bird fans.

Ok, check out some of the birds I saw today!

I think I've identified these birds correctly, but let me know if you see an error. All photos were taken by me with a Nikon D750 camera and Tamron 150-600 mm lens. Click on any image to view full-screen.

ws8ujtz4l6.jpg
Male Northern Pintail Duck

67tdwfzvf5.jpg
Male American Wigeon Duck

4gubcjobf1.jpg
Western Sandpipers

iqkwlv06tl.jpg
another Western Sandpiper

1ay2s2dsi6.jpg
Rock Pigeon, also known as a Rock Dove

s6pinaagzj.jpg

Two more... not as sharp as I'd like.

nl4hqjpgon.jpg
A flight of ducks. Mallards and Pintails flying together.

safsmomi7m.jpg
Black Turnstone

ztxu5fobh3.jpg
Glaucous-winged Gull

kuhbzbtsvi.jpg
Glaucous-winged Gull with a clamshell. I watched them drop the shells on the rocks to split them open. Often another gull would rush in and steal the prize.

dtgd90ugsq.gif

On the opposite side of the road there is a lot of beach art which I really like.

i7g2lvellx.jpg

King Fisher. You can see the artist's name on the sign - Brother Paul

gvcr40fjhy.jpg

Pileated Woodpecker

ww1aneau2v.jpg

Anna's Hummingbird

5kkoz8xicq.jpg

Steller's Jay

g2dskoulvn.jpg

Mute Swan

a7o1f8lupa.jpg

Blue Heron

8p1zt003t4.jpg

Canada Goose

xsmjq5pm6t.jpg

Fisgard Lighthouse.

That's it for my photos today... Now let's see your birds!

Sort:  

What a great variety of birds there, no wonder you like to photograph them! That pintail duck looks so perfect, it almost looks fake!

Thank you! That Pintail was the prettiest bird I saw today. There were no herons and no bald eagles. Didn't see a swan either come to think of it... Still lots of different birds though, and well worth the twenty minute drive to Ocean Blvd.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Fabulous photos! You are a master of bird photography! And I adore the art!
https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@melinda010100/feathered-friday-da43203d87687

![image](

Thank you, Melinda! I'm excited to see what this little guy is all about...

I think he was mad about the weather. He got caught in a late spring snowstorm last year and was at the feeder eating seeds. Their preferred diet is insects and spiders and he was not finding any of those here. That would be enough to make anybody mad. Cold and hungry.

Wonderful bird shots and the art is fantastic. U&R
My entry:
https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@redheadpei/feathered-friday-seagulls-0d264ac0219fa
CB24C5CE-3488-4AFB-A1D6-D68A5828E998.jpeg

Thank so much! I enjoyed seeing your gulls!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I enjoy shooting with the Tamron 150-600 as well. Mostly for birds, deer, wolf, fox, and coyote!

That's a great selection of animals you're shooting!

I can't take credit... that's what lives near here!

Happy come feather lovers, this is my entrance

Beautiful Peacock

pavo real1.jpg

https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@maxili63/feathered-friday-beautiful-peacock

Always happy to see a Feathered Friday post from you! On my way to check it out!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Haha, the beach art is terrific!! Great photos !!!

https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@karbon/2xazi4-featheredfriday

Oh, this looks good, I never seem to get any little songbirds. Heading over to your post now.

That would be fun to watch the gulls
busting clams! Wonderful photographs @keithboone!
The beach wood art is really cool to see, love the Steller's Jay!

My Raven & crow for #featheredfriday! :-)

Thank you @shasta, glad you liked the photos! Thanks for entering your own post!

Wow! You've knocked it out of the park again! That first of the two pictures of the glaucous winged gull is particularly great. I want to take a road trip up there just to see the art. Those are seriously cool.

Thank you, I'm glad you like the pics! I was happy to see so many driftwood art pieces on the beach because there had been some vandalism and some birds were broken. I guess the artist must have repaired the damage. I didn't notice a bald eagle, and there used to be one before.

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 7.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @keithboone! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Wow! Beautiful birds! My fave is the King Fisher!

Here is my entry...
https://partiko.app/@jurich60/my-entry-to-featheredfriday-by-keithboone-02222019-yyyl6cxp

Posted using Partiko Android

IMG_20190222_162056.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny post, thanks very much!

Great pics as usual. Loving the bird art you found as well! I've been busy the last couple weeks, but here is a new featheredfriday post from me!

Thanks very much! I'm heading to your post now...

Thank you for this awesome tag - my contribution Woolly necked Stork vs Dachschund
IMG_20190203_170252.jpg

This sounds interesting! I'm heading to your post now...

wow..howdy sir Keith! What a remarkable selection of fantastic photos today! Love that beach art also.

Thanks so much! Glad you liked the photos, and I really appreciate the resteem. Hope you're having a good day :-)

howdy again sir Keith. Yes sir, it's a fine day here, it's raining and cold, but that will pass because this is Texas, will be in the high 60s each day next week, today's supposed to make it to 53 is all. You are very welcome for the esteem, the photos are stunning!

I really enjoyed your post and thank you for getting this all going! I just found out about #featheredfriday today. Here is my featheredfriday post: Feathered Friday - and Attracting Wild Birds

20190211_152736.jpg

Welcome to Feathered Friday! I'm heading to check out your post now :-)

My entry:


Thank you for sharing
Your "art - birds" are superb!

Excellent post, thank you for entering Feathered Friday and leaving your link here!

Another awesome selection of bird images Keith. Your timing for the two shots of the Glaucous-winged Gull was perfect as I love the wing formation in the first one and seeing the clam shell on the second shot. It must have been fun watching them break them on the rocks but very heartbreaking for the one doing all the work and other swooping in to steal them. Nature can be cruel at times.

I also thought the bird beach art was really cool too and very unique. (U & R )

Thank so much, Trudee! Glad you like the post, and thanks for all your support!

Outstanding shots Keith of real birds and bird art that is quite fascinating. Never saw anything like it, but I love it 🙂

Thanks so much, Lena! All that driftwood art is very cool :-)

Beautiful birds - both live and artificial! I chose Seagulls for my post today (they seem to be popular here, probably because they're almost everywhere :D ) .

https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@missladybug/feathered-friday-ridiculous-seagulls

seagullniagara2.png

Excellent, I'll go see your post right now!

Amazing photos! And although I'm not an arts guys... the beach art is pretty amazing as well! Can I give a suggestion? Add the scientific names to those great birds if you can, it's a more universal language! ;) Man, #featheredfriday is reaaaallly building up, so many posts now! What a great idea :) And here's another one:

https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@pardinus/psittacine-featheredfriday

Thank you, I can do that next time, good idea. Yes, the tag seems to be taking off... I appreciate you linking your post here. I'll go check it out now :-)

Amazing photography! I especially love the gulls in flight and just look at the one with a clamshell in its mouth. Love it! The bird art is so cool too. : )
Here is mine: https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@whatisnew/mockingbird-learning-to-fly

Thanks very much! I loved your post about the mockingbirds!

Glad you enjoyed it. After seeing your amazing photography and others that use this tag, I wasn't going to post anymore bird photos because mine are no way near as good. But after telling that to @janton, he encouraged me to keep posting. Just thought you would like to know. : )

Well, I'm glad you told me that, and I'm glad you posted. There are a lot of photographers posting their bird photos, and you will see shots at every skill level. The idea is just to do your best and have fun. I hope you will come back again next week.

Thanks for your encouragement. I am not a photographer by any means but I do love taking photos of nature, and I do have much better ones. This is my 2nd year and I can see that I have improved since the first year. And I only have a digital camera so it is a fun challenge. I will definitely be back next week. Thanks again! : )

Congratulations @keithboone!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 10 with 65 comments

Well isn't that cool... thanks for letting me know! :-)