A black and white feathered affair at my place ....... all welcome

That is of course if you like birds. Expect to see a lot of the black and white variety; the magpies and butcher birds make themselves at home on a daily basis. One little baby magpie has turned into the 'permanent' resident #featheredfriend boarder; she takes the meat from our hands, pecks in the garden, talks to the doves and perches on the furniture. Initially she visited with her parents about 18 months ago and still a juvenile comes and goes as she likes staying for long periods of time. Magpies take about two years to mature into fully grown adults.

Here is a cute pic taken more than a year ago when she was still looked after my her mother and father.

IMG_9618.jpg

Baby magpie seems so at home, a safe haven I found out yesterday. Particularly when crows are nipping at her feather tails! The action happened suddenly and without warning. Alerted to the baby magpie's noisy cry I looked up from my computer to see her fly in with a black crow on her tail. The crow swooped up on to the roof and disappeared.

Baby magpie sat on the back of the cane chair and intently staring at me; grateful for a safe refuge I suspected. I am sure I heard a 'thank you.'

IMG_3542.jpg

She then stayed for a considerable length of time happily wandering around looking very much at home.

IMG_3543.jpg

IMG_3555.jpg

IMG_3557.jpg

Her looks and mannerisms say it all; she is a very expressive non-verbal communicator as the photos show.

I have noticed over the months that her transformation from the baby down feathers are slowly changing into the darker feathers of the adult birds. It is becoming noticeable on her face and back.

IMG_3550.jpg

IMG_3564.jpg

Being so close to this juvenile gives me the opportunity of seeing many different behaviours of magpies. For instance there are times when baby magpie is attacked and belted up by the parents; they are telling her to leave their territory. During these 'bashings' I see her lay submissively on her side in what appears to be a self-preservation ploy to stop the attacks. It is what birds do and although I find it distressing it is the animal way of communication and teaching the young. I cannot interfere and come to her rescue. But, I am sure baby magpie will be dealing out this same treatment to juveniles in the future.

Of course she was fed during her extended stay yesterday before she left, kindly leaving a thank you before flying away.


IMG_3548.jpg

Gratitude to you @melinda0100 for the @featheredfriend tag.

Cheers, Hive bloggers and happy Saturday.

Here is my permanent bird on the deck, my cockatoo cushion brightens up the daybed.

IMG_3604.jpg

Sort:  

What a sweet post! It looks like you've got a life-long feathered friend there! Terrific photos, thanks for sharing :-)

Thank you for your positiveness with my photographing skills, i enjoy taking photos but am a real amateur.

What a lovely bird to have around Angie. She knows a good thing.😊 Friendly birds like your Magpie give a lot of entertainment to us.

This little baby magpie is the one I wrote a post on over year ago Jo and I recall you wondering whether this would be ongoing. Interestingly it is and I am not sure whether this is unusual or not. Is this something you have experienced with an animal?

I have birds, chipmunks and squirrels that frequent my back deck and sometimes will take food from my hand but don’t stay long. Your magpie is especially friendly and like a pet bird Angie.

A pet bird without cages etc. A much nicer better alternative I think Jo. The animals bring a lot of entertainment with them. 💜

A good thing about wildlife visiting. One doesn’t have to clean their bedding.❤️

How cute looks like you got a friend for life 😁

I think we have too. Baby bird visited today for food and then wandered around the yard. Such a funny magpie💜

How awesome just like little kids 🤣