You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Questions from a new Steemarian (is that the right name?)

in #feeling7 years ago

@illanit670 – Dear illinanit670 , you must be the Steemit twin living inside my head, echoing and broadcasting my thoughts. I hope you’re still with us. I hope your decision to leave is not final. “Why?” you ask. “What difference does it make?” Well, my first very selfish reason for begging you to stay is so that I won’t be the only “Steemian” (in answer to your question) who feels completely lost almost all the time. Just recently, laboring under the assumption that I understood the term well enough to follow directions, I tried to “power up.” That means converting the balance in your Steem wallet to maximize your “influence” on the platform. This was an absurd notion. Having no discernible “influence” anywhere else in the world, by what wild stretch of the imagination would I presume to acquire influence in a cryptocurrency environment about which I know nothing? Three very kind and helpful Steemians have done their utmost to help me bridge the gap between total ignorance and basic, functioning knowledge. Despite their best efforts, I could have written your post. In fact, I had to blink and think, “Did I write this?”

I’m also begging you not to leave because you’re obviously intelligent, analytical, funny, sensible, pragmatic, down-to-earth, and to-the-point. In other words, a rare human being. If you leave Steemit, how will we find you again? It isn’t as though rare human beings just turn up every day. We understand that Steemit is not for the faint of heart. But you’re clearly not faint of heart. There is a popular rumor that Steemians may be among the most intelligent, imaginative, productive, and resourceful global citizens on the planet. Now why would you want to leave such a community? Think about it. You’d be bored anywhere else. You might even languish. No, I can’t explain the “key thing.” Keys are for incurably anal-retentive, algorithmic, left-brain mathematicians who like to lock things up. Keys are not for us. None of my keys worked during Steemit.com’s 100 thousandth Distributed Denial of Service attack. But who needs keys? Wait until there’s something to hoard and think about it then. Meanwhile, come home, @illanit360 living in a place called Japan. We miss you already!