Guys cry too!

in #feelings6 years ago

This one is for the dudes, ladies also welcome.

After having a great couple of weeks and an amazing weekend, I awoke this morning with a sense of sadness and loneliness that although I haven't felt for a while, used to be my predominant state.

I got up, did my morning meditation, and felt into this sadness and asked, "where is this coming from"? As I sat there taking long slow belly breaths my intellectual self was doing sprints in my head going nowhere fast....so I breathed more and waited for an answer, any answer, maybe a deep revelation that will astound me.

Time past and what I soon realized was that this feeling was simply meant to be felt fully, without resistance, no thinking attached. Just feel sad, feel soft, be vulnerable and know it won't kill you, it just means you are a human being.

After I fully "accepted" the feelings and emotions and let them pass through me ( if I were to deny the feelings and try and put on a brave face, the resistance would amplify the feelings until I did pay attention )

Soon after I was able to reorient my day to do what I needed to do, focus on how lucky I really am.

The lesson was a reminder to be honest with myself first, always and everything else is secondary. Too often, males are taught to ignore their emotions, bottle them up, or worst of all are disconnected from them leading to dispair, depression and unwanted behaviours.

Let us guys learn from the female aspect and be okay with feelings and emotions, it's okay to cry, then the laughter will be richer.