Joe Rogan Talks With Christina Sommers; Rationality + Feminism

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)

So I am sitting here pitting some plums and listening to podcasts, as I am wont to do, and I found some rational gold here on Youtube. 

Firstly, its probably gold because its with Joe Rogan, and honestly he is just a really balanced dude who can hold a conversation with nearly anyone. Secondly, it is probably gold because this particular podcast features Christina Sommers. She is what I would call a rational feminist! And I love that. Seriously. Lets throw some rational, balanced thought in the pot here because I love feminism! But feminism also tends to side on the fanatical nowadays. I have not yet formed solid beliefs about many issues that arise in feminist discussions because of the lack of straightforward rational thought, rational deductions and actual fact. So, I am refreshed! 

 I have been wanting to write about this for a while, but can hardly find the words to tip toe around and still actually formulate my thoughts. And, disclaimer, my thoughts have not entirely been formulated. My opinion is up in the air with a lot of the feminist topics nowadays, including gender stuff, because I certainly have not lived long enough or spent enough brain power really considering these issues. Perhaps, because they are not major issues in my life and I do not encounter many injustices to do with gender at all. I do not agree with Christina nor Joe or many of his guests all of the time, and nor do I disagree with them. Really, it is all just damn interesting and I really love rational debates and philosophy too.

Perhaps, I like Christina because she refreshes me with some interesting arguments. For example, that the gender pay gap is a myth. This is personal to me in many ways because me and my boyfriend have had to sort out our income disparities. I make 12 dollars an hour working in an organic garden, and he hauls dirt and rocks and branches around for up to 25. I work 4-6 hours a day and he works 8 at least. Obviously, he works harder and makes more money and we both like it that way! I personally would rather be at home washing dishes, tending my garden and pitting plumbs then breaking my back. I feel like a lot of women feel this way and feel alienated by the feminist communities because they want to take the homemaker role. I know lots of women really love to work hard and long days too, and generally make more money because of that. Anyways, Christina gives some stats in the podcast that are relevant to this subject that I find very interesting, and I would love to read an actual statistical study on that.

She also talks about how females are privileged in a lot of ways, and so are men. She talks about how males really like to physically exert themselves and how females tend to like to go to school and learn more. (DUH EVERYTHING HAS EXCEPTIONS). She uses some numbers and facts and stuff. I do not agree on every subject, but at least having someone talk nicely about things is pleasant to listen too. 

I also really like the idea of having some classes for boys and some classes for girls. I currently am taking an all female taught permaculture diploma course online, which is awesome. I love it, and most of the students are girls as well, which is also great. I do get sick of listening to guys talk about things, mansplaining is totally a thing. But when I told my dad about it he was like 'what, you can have an all female led course but its sexist to have an all male taught course?' and I thought about it and was like, hmm, no there are tons of all male things. And there should be. Why the fuck not? If I can get together with my female friends and have a girls only whatever, then power to the men to do the same. Smash those stupid preconceptions. We want equal opportunity here, for everyone! Guys have problems too, and their problem is not that they are not feminine enough. I love manly hunks and I am damn sure they can do manly things that I cannot do, like opening jars or throwing rocks around. 

Also I am a believer that thinking somewhat violent things, sparring and playing violent video games helps you release any of that energy rather then cause you to act it out in most cases. Personally, playing too much call of duty causes my mental health to go wacky, but I really like to play it and I love to spar and I dream about war and imagine fight scenes. I am totally passive in real life. Completely physically passive, I am a peace keeper. I am a sassy peace keeper, yes, but I would never be actually violent to hurt someone (unless its consensual ;P). But without violent bdsm sex, video games, war dreams and sparring I would probably act out more honestly! Just my opinion. This stuff really helps. 

Ninja can totally clean a kitchen better then I can too haha, and he can cook wayyyy better, to be fair.

Anyways, I have ranted long enough now I think. Give this chick a listen! She is a true feminist and is pretty rational and wants equal opportunity as well. I am sort of sick of listening to people complain about social justice whatever and complaining about all this stuff but when they get into the real conversations it is very interesting.

Talk to everyone more later! I am going to finish listening to this podcast and pitting these plums. Perhaps I will write more later! - try not to take me too seriously please and thanks, the fuck do I know anyways - hahahaha

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Ninja can totally clean a kitchen better then I can too haha, and he can cook wayyyy better, to be fair.
It should be better than instead of better then.

GOOD THING I DONT CAREEEE

Congratulations @skycae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!