You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humble Pie - Food Fight Friday - Round 35

in #fff5 years ago

Howdy sir dandays! Oh the coffee was regular coffee, could you taste it in the pancakes? That sounds like it would make a good flavoring but this was an experiment right? I mean, she makes so many original dishes and then you guys find out if they taste good and if it's good you post them, or she posts them. Right?

Mrs. J doesn't work this weekend, not sure what the schedule is, if it doesn't rain I'll be mowing quite a bit and she will be finishing our taxes, yuck!

Down there you don't have to file anything for taxes or what do they have down there?

I don't think autofiring you would have any effect on our engagement and I appreciate your concerns but you're probably stuck with me for the long term or until steemit collapses. lol. Several people have severe doubts about it so we'll see!

Sort:  

Nah, you couldn’t taste it. It’s just the combination of it, the fruit, the agave, etc. that tastes good. Pretty much everything she makes is an experiment, you’re right. Often times she’ll be “danget! I wish I would’ve written it down” when something is perfect. There’s a rare one here and there that aren’t perfect, she expects that. Not too often, though, I’d guess maybe 1 out of 15 aren’t delicious—nothing gets thrown out.

Ah, taxes, what a treat! Yes, I still have to pay, there’s a clause about being abroad for two years, though. Liability is 12% of “up to” 100% earned income and once you’re abroad two years your filing status changes to 7% of “up to” 80% earned income. Can you see the difference in value there? It’s pretty substantial and the key is up to. Simple math, on 1k, 12% of that is $120. “Up to” 80% of 1k is is $800. 7% of $800 is $56. $56 vs $120, You’re cutting your obligations by more than 50%.

I’ve maintained a Nevada address for a long time—no state taxes there.

Sweet! You’re not a bad guy to be stuck with. You know what though, Janton? I’ve been doing some curating lately with ArtzOne and I’m seeing quite a bit of young authors starting their Steemit experience. I don’t know
man butnir doesn’t look that bad out there.

Howdy sir dandays! one out of 15 dishes your wife makes is less than perfect! lol. those are pretty good odds, especially when that one is still good, it's just not up to her standards!

As far as taxes, do you owe taxes on the income from the innuities?

Yeah with steemit..there are so many good things being tried and that people are working on that they just might make it. I think they will. I give them a 75% chance of succeeding based on nothing at all except my impressions. lol. It's still somewhat of a gamble. But I think the ods are improving all the time.

Annuities, right? I’m not drawing anything from my annuity, it will remain in a brokerage until I’m 62 to avoid paying. Unless I die then Pura Vida gets it all and she’ll have to pay the taxes.

I do have to file taxes, though, I’m done already, free and clear of 2018. Part of the two years, two weeks and five weeks it took to leave the country was clearing my name with the Feds. They don’t owe me and I don’t owe them—free and clear!

oh ok sir dandays well that's good. I thought you were living on payments from those 5 innuities or something. Then what are you living on? Your pension from the electrician union fund that you paid into for those 25 years or whatever it was?

Yes, exactly. I also built an annuity over those decades, just one though. I’m receiving 4 pensions, all receivable by the IBEW once I got my 37,500 hours. 4 pensions and 1 annuity is probably where you got 5 from. But the annuity is in the US stock exchange, it’ll be there another 18n1/2 years.

By submitting 12% on the two higher pensions, I can submit zero% on the two smaller ones and my calculations had me zero across the board. I ended up owing $17 that I paid online in my tax preparers office. 17... 0... close enough. 👍🏿

howdy sir dandays! well shoot, that ain't confusing at all! lol. I'm glad you got this stuff figured out and that $17 is a hoot!
for someone who doesn't like planning this looks suspiciously like meticulous planning!

You know what, Janton? That’s interesting. I hope this doesn’t come across the wrong way, just introducing myself a little at a time. See, when you laugh, I think you’re laughing because you understand how difficult of a task that is... to hit zero across the board and being off by $17 is a victory.

But I read it again, read your response again, then I realized it kinda sounds unbelievable. Well, Janton, you know I got copies of all that ish. Check out line 22.

I do suck at making plans though. That’s the truth, I don’t even try. But I’ve always been trying to beat the Feds, weird huh? I don’t know why that is. Always, always, always, they’ve been the enemy and I’ve been trying to keep everything that’s mine since I can remember.

Hey, here’s another thing! If I’m gonna be off any amount, I want the check to come from me, not them! Not even if it’s only $17. It just worked out better that way, actually, being in the red $17 is probably better than zero not that I think about it. 🤔

24A9A6F1-30DC-470C-90B6-36C503099B3B.jpeg