The Declining: 2 of my Bank Cards have stopped working thanks to Wirecard (UK/EU Only)

in #fiat4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200626_162332.jpg

image.png

Hey, Everyone.

You may have heard about Wirecard's (Alleged) Massive Fraud. Unfortunately Wirecard issued both my Crypto.com and Curve debit cards. Now I have a fancy piece of plastic and a fancy piece of metal.

This is a big pain in the ass as the Curve card I use with my Crypto.com card, as the Crypto.com card doesn't play nice with some retailers, so curve running in front of it makes it way more useful. All the perks of the Crypto.com card are gone for the moment which sucks.

Hopefully they can both get back up and running quickly but we'll have to see how it goes!

Thanks for reading,
~ CA

Sort:  

Oh wow! I thought their business was still running... I think they have to put up collateral for part of their operations. That might be in jeopardy with the current situation.

The UK Financial Regulator has prevented them from doing anything as a company, incliding "Licenced Operations", of which being a Card issuer is one, so yeah... hopefully they can sort it out, or I'll have 2 new ornaments for my room!

Oh damn that sucks. Having 2 cards killed off at once must suck.

Yeah, I bet your CDC card is still running fine (if they've issued it yet) as I don't think America fucks with Wirecard. If this were half a year ago, it would've killed off 4 cards though, so I guess in a way I'm lucky!

Nope, still not here. And they won't respond to my emails so...

which are the cards that still work?

can you suggest me a good crypto bank? best would be in europe..

I haven't used any others, unfortunately, so I don't feel qualified to recommend any. Hopefully CDC can deal with this quickly enough to not cause too many issues!

I've got a Crypto.com card but I think its Singapore issued (for Australia).
Does this mean its not affected?

I am not sure, the back of your card should give you some idea though:

image.png

If it says anything with "WireCard" in the name, there's a pretty good chance that It'll stop working. Another good test is to try and spend on it, as mine declines all transactions now.

Hope this helps!

Thanks. Mine says Wirecard Singapore PTE. So I think it may work at the moment but no guarantees for the future.

Hopefully you'll be able to avoid this mess!

Still down or any solutions there yet?

Wirecard were given a temporary licence back because the UK realised how many people wouldn't have bank cards for a while.