ENRAPTURED: (MY MERMAID TALES)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Episode 1


Moonlight stories told by my grandma has been one of my favorites when I was a child. She would pass across moral lessons through her interesting diversified stories. She talks on anything ranging from ghosts, heroes, fables, good winning over evil, underwater creatures, noble acts and even most times, sing a folksong to complete such stories. Of all, I couldn't seem to forget a particular mermaid story which in turn pricks my curiosity to want to know more. The story goes thus:


There was a very poor fisherman who depends on daily catch to feed and provide for his family. He had no other means of survival asides this fishing profession. He was really hard working and would turn down every corrupt practices perpetrated by his friends to get a quick wealth. On a particular day, he was at sea and has cast his net for a catch but caught nothing. He started thinking of what his wife and children would eat as they depended on his catch. They had nothing to eat before he left home in the morning and this was evening. He thought of jumping in the sea to end such a miserable life but that also means murdering his family. He was still on this thought when he felt his net stir. Finally a catch! He attempted to drag it out but it was as heavy as lead. What kind of fish could possibly be this heavy? Sharks don't swim in that particular region he was but he had to wait patiently to confirm for himself. He whistled for other fishermen to come lend hands. Lo and behold, what was caught was a live mermaid! Immediately it landed on deck, the mermaid started weeping and rubbing its palms as a gesture of pleading. Other fishermen were on the verge of hacking it to death when the fisherman stopped them and asked that they throw it back in. Some called him all sort of abusive name, while others suggested he keeps it as an exhibition or probably sell to the white man for a bogus amount. He thought of it but couldn't think it a better option. Why should he misplace the mermaid in a world not hers because of his own selfishness? He threw her back in the water and went home with the few fishes that came with the catch. He went to cast his net the next day and his catch made him the talk of his time. He caught numerous pure gold instead of fishes! He kept catching gold instead of fishes from that day on. All thanks to the noble act done the mermaid and he was never poor again!


The story got me pondering for a while wondering how nice mermaids must be and having heard of how beautiful they look, I so much wanted to see one. I thought I could forget all my fantasies while growing but the curiosity only deepens. All this led me to making the beach my most favorite place in the world.

I would buy movies with a mermaid storyline, make research on them and even dream of it. I thought it wasn't quite normal until i sat down at the water shore on one fine day and was lost in my reverie. I saw the water opened and a stairway leading down to where I don't know. Could it be my imaginations at play or is this happening for real?

I stood up and like being drawn to a magical spell, I started to climb down the water tunnel taking the stairs. It looked like an aquarium under there and like I was a big spectator. It seemed like I was in a glass cylinder hindering me from hitting the water as my cloth was still dry. I was still admiring fishes when I saw the first flashlight! What could that be? I stood at alert! More blinding flashes came and finally the most illuminous which left me temporarily blind.

I opened my eyes to a colorful, sparkling, beautiful, ravishing, glamorous, terrific, gigantic sight I have never come across in my life. Such beauty cannot exist! Did not exist! Not even in my imaginations did I picture something as ornate! This can't be real! It is real! It isn't real! And then I fainted. Before drifting into unconsciousness, I heard the creature say

this is only the beginning of your supernatural sojourn, I am Mefusa and would be your guide!
images(13).jpg
Credit

What do you think happened to Aderonke in her supernatural sojourn? Would she be able to quench the thirst of her curiosity or fall into dungeon of dilemmas? You can only find out in the next episode....
Watch out for ENRAPTURED ep2.

While waiting, kindly upvote, comment,resteem and follow

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Am waiting for the next part

Under construction sir

Am still doubtful.. This thing called mermaids i dont think they exist.. Do anyone has proof of there existence?

That is why this is a fiction... Wait on the next episode

Ok.. Cool i loved it though..

Nice one dear
Waiting eagerly for the next episode i love mermaid stories

Hahahahahah.... I thought I was the only one. Nice one

Thanks to grandma for this wonderful story

Yeah... Shes simply amazing

Nice one pretty
Interesting!

You are such an enchanting writer @aderonkemi. Your Ibadan post caught my fancy... Now this Mermaid thing is such a delight to story lovers... My own version of mermaid is the Tortoise and mermaid story. Meanwhile, your story would be fine for a contest I know, Sankofa. Would get you a link to it latter. Steem on ma, while I await the second part of this one.

Lol...tortoise and mermaid is a funny combination. Thanks for reading and I'm still waiting for the Sankofa link.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aderonkemi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.