A Clandestine Rendezvous - A Fiction Short Story for Writing Prompt “These Three Things”

in #fictionlast year

Man lighting a cigarette

Sebastian flicked the lighter he held before closing it again. Tapping his foot impatiently on the ground, he popped the top of the lighter open once more. He watched the flame flicker before he closed the lighter with a soft ping. He flicked it open again.

‘Will you stop that?’ Kevin chided.

‘What, I can’t help if I’m nervous,’ Sebastian retorted, as he continued to play with his lighter.

‘I swear, if you don’t stop that I’m going to take that lighter away from you.’

Sebastian rolled his eyes. He took a cigarette out and lit it, letting out a nice long puff. A car drove by the dark alley where he and Kevin stood. He leaned his back on the brick wall behind him.

‘Why did we have to have this meeting now, at this hour, and in this alley, of all places? We look like drug dealers!’

‘Dude, keep it down!’ Kevin sighed. ‘And blow that smoke in someone else’s face.’

‘Yeah, sure.’ Sebastian looked around. ‘Oh, wait, yours is the only face here.’ He sneered, puffing out into Kevin’s face.

Kevin pinched the bridge of his nose. ‘I swear, man, my patience is wearing thin.’

‘Your patience? This was your idea, might I remind you.’ Sebastian took another long puff and flicked his lighter again. ‘I feel like we’re going to be attacked any second.’


Continue reading A Clandestine Rendezvous on Medium with this Friend Link

Gain access to all my content on Medium by becoming a member through my referral link.