Chapter 1: Look Both Ways

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

A Steemit Original

Chapter 1

Look Both Ways

Joshua looked both ways and hurriedly crossed the street. He wasn't concerned about being hit by a car, but they had been following him closely as of late. The men in suits on the subway who would keep an eye on him and follow him out at random stops. The women who seemed to hit on him at the coffee shop and feigned interest. The oft asked question, "Don't I know you from somewhere? You look familiar." The askance looks he received from soccer moms while buying fruit at the grocery store, as if they were judging him by the quality or the type of apple he chose to purchase. Anyone could be a spy.

Perhaps he had one of those faces, he thought. No, they were after him. He knew it. It had only happened in the last few months, and only several days after he had stumbled upon it.

Joshua had been browsing the Deep Web, going through cypher-punky anarchist forums and reading up on the latest conversations, the latest hacks and data dumps of corporations and the politicians that had been bought and paid for.

He came across a link to information that had had been up for only a few minutes, before it was to be deleted, presumably by the agents that didn't want that information to be brought to the light. But it had. Joshua had seen it.

It wasn't terribly shocking, your run of the mill backroom deals that plagues any institution. But the names and the wealth of data was so damning that those at the top would do nothing to stop that flow of information.

Joshua had downloaded it prior to it being gone forever. He read the download once, and, as he was plagued with perfect memory, purged it immediately. There was no unreading what he had read. Too late. Some things are better off left unknown.

To be continued ...

Sort:  

Suspense. A state or feeling of be excited or anxious uncertainty about what may happen next.....

Anticipation from the audience is good. I'm hoping that this will be a completely new style of writing to take shape on the Steem blockchain, where the audience helps write the story!

I have no idea where this tale is going.

But it looks like somebody wants Joshua dead. Are they going to manage to do so? Will our hero thwart them in the nick of time; die in a blaze of glory; or die without completing his story?

I like they way you capture the readers......

What were in the documents that Joshua read? Anyone care to speculate?

Communications between Government leaders.

I enjoy writing normally just music songs, I'm thinking about trying a fiction story soon...this is inspiring me!

I haven't written fiction in ages! This is going to be a real pleasure.

Unless you count my math dissertation as fiction. Sometimes I do.

Know that you can't hurry a good story. The rest will come ...

here we go

Please hurry with the rest@complexring!

thanks,like

Thank you sooooo much for publishing original content on Steemit!
I am doing the same without any responses and I hope you forge the path for those interested in writing and feedback. If you have a moment, please peruse some of my posts. I am trying my hand at poetry and articles but may put out some fiction I have been rehashing. This is my most recent poem https://steemit.com/steemit/@hmfoucault/bondage-dominance-submission-sadomasochism-living-with-rats
As far as this first chapter goes, I concur with the others, great suspense and intrigue!

Dun, Dun, Dun... Suspence

Alright, ya got me. Staying tuned for the next installment!

This definitely made me think of the show Mr. Robot which I highly recommend if you haven't watched it already.

I have. It's very good. Not quite the same in scope. Definitely similar in some respect.

Hmmm....guess what's gonna come next!??

Hmmm, what will happen next!

Tune in tomorrow, same bat time, same bat channel!

Cue Batman Theme song!

I look forward to what happens next, and it would be cool if you work some mathematical angle in here too! :-)

Yes. I haven't figured out how to incorporate math. Maybe ring cryptography. I may as well start putting my math posts under fiction, too. ;P


I'm hooked... :O

Captivating.....I'm looking forward to following the developments as they unfold. Book-marked!

Thank you