I published my book yesterday.

in #fiction5 years ago

Last year I wrote a novel, I had it all figured out I was going to write a novel and self publish it. To be honest it took a while to write, over 50000 words in total. When I finished it, I had such an accomplished feeling that I had achieved something, something that I had created and invented with my own mind.

Then self doubt set in.

After finishing the manuscript I spoke to a couple of people, I ended up feeling more confused than ever about what I should do next. The plan was always to self publish, and people were telling me that I had to spend a lot of money on the manuscript, to get it up to scratch.

One person said he read it and this was like an hour after I wrote it, then he started to criticise the whole thing, which I came to a vast conclusion that he really didn't read it, but wanted to make out he did so he could be a book critic. But still listening to his words prevented me from moving on with the manuscript.

I think two people maybe who read the book had been sincere, in the light that they said it was not a bad read but did need some tidying up. I confess now to the grammar police I am not the worlds best at grammar, probably far from it and you will be able to tell in my blog posts. For the past year the manuscript was always in the back of my mind, but I did nothing with it, because I just thought its not going to be any good, I could not afford a proof reader and thus it would just gather digital dust in my laptop.

Then I did something crazy.

So last night I got some random email from amazon KDP, nothing at all to do with my book but it brought it back to my mind. I logged on, as there was a draft copy of the manuscript and cover waiting. When I looked at the date, the last time I touched it was December 17. So I had done nothing with the book for an entire year, way too long I thought to my self.
So for once in my life, I stopped listening to other people and listened to myself. There and then I published the book on Amazon and it's there now available to read.

A word of caution

If you read this, please note the grammar is far from perfect I know this. I just had a story I wanted to tell so I wrote it. The book is called Arrival at Happy Endings. Here is the a description of what the book is about.

Lydia Spalding, is a top journalist working for a London newspaper. She loves her job and is devoted to it, when her boss tells her that she is being moved to a women's supplement Lydia is not happy about it.
Her first assignment, she is sent to a Village in Bulgaria to research about a millionaire called Mark Ross who is renovating a village. However when she gets there Mark is reluctant to talk to her, so Lydia gets to know the locals each one with a secret of their own. When the local foreman is murdered people are on edge and Lydia is determined to find the killer, but what she finds out will be on every newspaper front page worldwide.

source

All in all the story I hope you enjoy reading it if you choose to do so. Will I write another one? I would like to think so but I am guessing I have to just give myself a good talking to, after all no one became an expert in writing over night so it could be a long time before I would consider myself to have any sort of talent, but if I don't try I will never know.

If you would like to read the book, you can click on the link below the picture it is available on all Amazon's worldwide.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Arrival_at_Happy_Endings__The_Lydia_Spalding_Series_Book_1__eBook__Caleb_Blackrock__Amazon_ca__Kindle_Store.jpg

Click to buy the book.

*Blog has been posted also here

Sort:  

Ok, let's try again !COFFEEA 15

Hi crazybgadventure ! You just received an upvote from @share2steem !

To our deep regret, it looks like you signed up on Share2Steem but never linked an account.
A lot of changes have been made to the application @share2steem and to the website https://share2steem.io since your last visit.

There are some new features that you might be interested in :

  1. Daily Upvote from the Share2Steem account (25891 SP and growing with an upvote value worth up to $0.59)
  2. The Pool Curation trail (that you can activate in your Settings), worth more than 2 times the Share2Steem upvote !
  3. A Referral Program with a high referral rate : 4% of all your referrals' earnings !

We would love to have your feedback :
Why haven't you used Share2Steem after signing up ?
Were the explanations about linking a social network account not clear ?
Maybe you're not interested in the application ?
Or maybe you don't have any social media account except Steem ?

We hope to see you soon on https://share2steem.io

If you have any questions, suggestions, feel free to come to Discord

This message was generated automatically.

Congratulations @crazybgadventure! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What you need when you read a good book, a nice cup of !COFFEEA 15 with it

coffeea Lucky you @crazybgadventure here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness