Beautiful Eyes

in #fiction2 years ago

The sun was starting to set as I lifted the beautiful brunette into my arms and carried her out the back door of my speakeasy. Her long brown hair fluttering behind her. I climbed up the stairs to the loft, the moon shining brightly overhead, the bright red of the setting sun bursting through the stained-glass windows. It was beautiful.

I had seen her in a photograph just last week, she was a quiet thing, always watching the people around her. She didn’t smile, didn’t laugh. It would be nice to know what made her like that. I would have to take the time to learn about her.

I placed her on the bed and walked behind her, smoothing her hair back out of her face.

“You know,” I started, “it’s probably best to stay away from my place if you want to keep a low profile.”

She turned toward me her eyes shining brightly. She had the most beautiful eyes I had ever seen, they were grey and seemed to see right through to my soul.

“And why is that?” It was clear she was interested.

I bit my lip, nibbling on it slightly. “Well, I’m the owner of this speakeasy, I think you know that.”

She nodded her head.

“Well, my main backer is a rather dangerous man, and he…well, he might not like it if you show up as often as I would like you to.”

She looked thoughtful for a moment, her eyes finally catching mine.

“What does he do for a living?”

“He owns this town.” I whispered, my voice barely audible.

“You mean, he owns the police?” Her voice was soft, barely above a whisper.

I nodded my head, “more or less.”

“Oh.” She said, sitting up and reaching out for me.

I pulled her close, warmth spreading through my body.

“It’s beautiful out here,” She said, looking up at the sky as I ran my hands through her hair.

I nodded.

“Do you have any business out here?”

I shook my head. “No, I’m just a tequila man.” I said.

She turned to face me, her eyes shining brightly.

“Well, don’t let me stop you.” She smiled at me.

I leaned down and kissed her.

“I’ll take that as a yes.” I said, smiling at her.

She smiled back.

Curiously, I had believed that I just met the owner of this town, but as I lay there beside her, I could feel her skin against mine, the flush of her body and the smell of her hair. Her hair was a color that should have been impossible to come by. Brown, and red both. I had no idea how she did it, but I was relieved when I saw her in the photo. Her hair was red and braided. She was beautiful and she was mine. I would get to know her.

The bed squeaked as I rolled toward her humming to myself. My head was resting next to hers on my pillow, my eyes were heavy. I had lost track of time.

“What’s that song?” She asked in her very soft voice.

“Hrm?” I whispered back.

“That song, you were humming.”

“Oh. It’s a song that my mother sang to me when I was a child.” I replied.

“That’s beautiful.” She replied.

I laughed. “She feels that way about most of my songs.”

“I’m surprised she’s not in here trying to sing it to you.” She said with a chuckle.

I smiled, “I’m surprised she’s not in here trying to sing it to you too.” I replied, smiling.

She laughed softly and nestled back into my chest.

I felt her hand moving up my arm, moving toward my neck. She was very close to me now.

Suddenly, she leapt away from me.

“Oh…” she said. “I have a bad feeling about this.” She said as she retreated towards the floor.

“What?” I asked.

“Uhh…” she paused, standing up and brushing herself off. “I just remembered something I have to do.” She said, bouncing slightly.

“What do you have to do?” I asked, watching her smile.

She smiled at me, “This.” She said, leaning forward and placing a kiss on my forehead.

And she was gone.

I lay there for a moment, confused. I felt like she was lying to me.

I reached for my cell phone and dialed a number.

“Hello?” A female voice answered.

“Hello, is this Toni?”

“Yes. Who’s this?”

“I’m Max Wheatley.” I replied. “Our…very new visitor dropped in today on me. I’ve been dying to get to know her and when she disappeared, I tried to figure out what was wrong. I’m having some trouble doing that. I thought maybe you could help me.”

“Hmmm,” she said. “You mean the girl?”

“Yes.” I replied.

“The girl.” She replied. “You mean, Janika Wheatley?”

“Huh?” I said with surprise. “Oh, yes. That’s her correct?”

She laughed softly at my surprise, “Strange coincidence huh? The same man who’s been looking for her shows up at the very moment she’s there.”

“Yes.” I said.

“Well, you seem to get on well so far with her.” She said.

“I’ve already spent some time with her. We’re playing some good tunes, getting to know each other. The night is young though, I…”

“That’s not why I called Max.” She said.

I frowned. “Okay…”

“Uh, uhh…Did you give her a scent?” She asked.

“Scent?” I asked.

“Yes,” she said. “A scent. The scent of your house, I have to tell you this, it’s a little unusual. You’re a friend of ours, we respect you, so unlike the rest of the townsfolk, we like to tell you that there’s a reason why spiders aren’t much welcome here. We tend to wring their necks.”

I frowned. “Toni, I think I know why you called me. What I don’t understand is…”

“Max, really, you have to understand something about us.” She said, her voice betraying the worry I heard in it. “We’re not kickbacks, we don’t survive by bowing down to the criminal underworld like everyone else. We have a rule. No harm to law enforcement, period.”

“What?” I asked, surprised.

“What are you doing?” she asked. “You’re sneaking out the back.”

I smiled at her and hung up.

I soon arrived at my door. As I entered I caught the scent of a human. A familiar scent.

“Vi?” I asked. “Is that you?”

And she was.

She sat beautifully on my bed, eyes half closed.

“That’s odd.” I said confused as she blinked her eyes open to me. “You’re not…” I said, leaning down. “It couldn’t be…”

“I’m sorry.” She said softly, pulling me close to her. “I don’t want to be a wolf. I love you.”

“Oh, Vi,” I said. “I…”

And I blacked out.

I awoke to her kissing me.

“I told you it was dangerous.” She said. “We’re going to be married.”

She blinked and looked down at me. “Oh.” She said. “It’s been a long time.”

“Yes, shame about that.” I replied.

“Are you still having trouble seeing me?” She asked with a smile.

“Yes, but I think I’ve started getting used to it.” I said, smiling at her and rubbing my eyes.

“We haven’t really talked.” She said with a smile. “I know that you need a lot of detail.”

“No, I can do without it.” I said.

She laughed and shook her head. “Wait, no, no.” She laughed, reaching for a phone. She dialed a number and put it on speaker mode. “Call the boys. We’re going to plan our wedding.” She said, and I could hear the delight in her voice.

“Well, there was one other thing.” I said with a smile.

“What’s that?”

“I have a confession.” I said, retracting my smile.

“I’m sorry.” She said. “I guess that I wouldn’t be able to tell you now anyway.”

I nodded. “That’s fine.”

“Shall we talk about this later?” She asked.



Pic (Source)

Sort:  

Congratulations @crocodilesputnik! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!