Can't Get No Satisfaction

in #fiction3 years ago

Did I?

"So I, all alone, can never satisfy me,

Can you, my love?"

I stared at the man singing, wondering who he was until I realized that he looked a bit like me. Well, I'm a vampire, so it may be difficult to imagine that we look alike. It's the eyes and the nose. Both soft, and almost childlike. His voice is smooth and mellow; very soothing. I don't know how long I stayed like that, singing along, letting the music envelope me. I could tell he was playing this song for me. Thinking back, I loved the song, always wishing I knew who the author was. I would memorize the song and listen to it again and again, and when I did, it felt so good. So uplifting. It was most definitely a love song to a guy, but it just didn't seem romantic to me. I couldn't imagine some guy writing a song for a woman.

"I don't know why I'm so unsure. I do everything I can, So do you. We both do.

And things as always come as they're meant to.

Though in the end, I should know better.

I thought it was little while ago,

That I should know better."

I fidgeted with my hands; seemed silly. I should be listening more than fidgeting; however the urge to play the song over and over proved too strong. I already knew that it was written for me; I'd just never suspected its author. As I stood there, listening to the song, I must've been staring into his eyes because he asked,

"Are you alright?" I could have burst into tears,

But my heart was still like a stone,

And it seemed like too much to ask.

"I am fine," I replied, "thank you.

And so are you," I added, smiling brightly. He tried to smile back, but it didn't seem very convincing. I could tell he was about to say something, but he never got the chance. A rather large man broke our moment,

"Hey, I ordered this song!"

"This is the intermission, I'll be right with you," he replied in a rude tone, finally looking back towards his instrument. The man looked

ready to protest but I spoke first, "If you don't want to wait, I can hear you sing it.

It would be an honor," I said. He shook his head and waved his arms. He looked at me, gave me a look, "Have you ever heard him sing?" I gave him my biggest charming smile, "I'm sure it'll be fine."

I'm a sucker for charm, and I should know better.

So I, all alone, can never satisfy me.

Can you, my love?

"Alright then, follow me," he said, following the man through the door, through a room meant for preparation, and out a small door to the stage. I could tell he wasn't really happy about this. There was a microphone on the stage and a few cases of instruments. He opens one of them, revealing a violin. I caught sight of his hands, and realized that he was shaking.

"Can you play?" I asked, wondering if perhaps this singer was just an impostor. However, as he turned to me, he only smiled and said, "You heard me sing, didn't you?"

The man puts a hand to his ear as I took a seat. The singer changes his tune as I realize the microphone has been turned on. I'm sure the man is getting grouchy about now.

This man may not be the real deal.

"I'm glad one of us knows what he's doing," I said, trying to ease his tension. It seemed to work; he looked at me with slight interest. I smiled, and he put his violin into tune.

"Alright, I'm all yours."

"I only want you to know,

'Cause this song's just one time solo.

That I may not be as bold as your first love,

But I know one thing about you -

I am trying to look out for you.

Though I'm just no match for my love,

'Cause I can't prove my true love."

At this point the man's face was the picture of annoyance and he kept his eyes on me as he played. I felt a bit bad for him, he was a really good violinist. Maybe he was a man with a need for redemption. I decided to tease him.

"Are you ok?" I asked, putting on a pouty expression. He stares at me, a confused look on his face.

After a moment, I smiled wide, "I just wanted to know. You seem a bit... off." He stares at me for a moment longer before resuming his song.

"But I am still paying dues for where I stood before.

I am trying to look out for you."

"Are you sure? I think I prefer a bad liar," I replied, smiling. It seemed he didn't care who he sang this song for; he sounded pretty good, regardless.

"And, by the way, your song was amazing. I was so touched by it." He smiled widely, and the look in his eye told me that he knew I was lying, but he didn't seem to care.

"Sometimes, it's hard to tell you the truth," he said, "But I get to know that there's someone like you, who still thinks of me that way."

"I don't think it would be a good idea to walk home alone after this," I said, taking my leave. I wasn't about to tell him that I'd seen his eyes turn into my own.

I'd only known this man for a few brief moments, but I was already captivated. To be honest, I don't know why I'd ever walked into that diner. It's not like I was hungry or anything. Maybe it was boredom again, or maybe I enjoyed playing the emotions of others. But for now, I was transported into a world I'd never had any want to live in. I didn't care to leave this place; I wanted to be here, listening. I wanted to hear more of this man's song.

"And I will never cease to wonder,

But I know one thing about you -

I am trying to look out for you."

I could have stayed there forever, if I'd wanted to. He came out of that building and stood on the sidewalk, waiting for me. I walked down the street and considered. I was glad that I'd walked into the diner. I didn't want to spend eternity without knowing this man.

"Hey, thanks you for seeing me play," he said, "You really made my day."

"Your song was quite nice," I replied. He didn't mention anything about my lie. I guess that was how you conduct business in this world.

"I'm glad I got to share it with someone like you."

"Like me?"

"You're a really interesting person. Really, I have never met someone like you."

"What's so interesting about me?"

"You're very... interesting," he replied.

"That's a bit of a compliment. Does it sound like one to you?"

"It sounds right to me," he replied.

I could feel unease creep up.

"But what do you want from me?" I asked him. He turned his head away, and in doing so, he looked sad. He wasn't acting like himself at all now.

"Nothing... I'm just curious."

"Well, I guess that's not very normal, is it?"

"I suppose you'd know about normal," he replied.

"You don't strike me as the type to be with someone that's 'normal.'"

He gave me a look of confusion. I walked towards him and stood in front of him, "And what type do you consider yourself?"

"Have you ever heard of me? My name is Vincent Valentine; I'm sort of a legend."

"Ah, the last of the dark knights. But they say you're dead."

"Well, we can take that to mean you didn't hear about me while you were dead," he said.

"I was that kind of legend, wasn't I?" I said, running my hand through my hair. He hesitated and finally nodded, "Yeah, something like that. They say you're the strongest of the vampires, a leader."

"When do they say I died?"

"About two years ago."

"So you were killed two years ago?"

"How do you know that?"

"No one else that I know of stood up to me."

"I wish I could say that was true," he said.

I paused for a moment, "Why did you care that much about me?"

"The strongest hunter, who coincidentally fell because of me, fascinates me," he said. It sounded like an excuse.

"But you're a legend, and I'm merely a vampire. What kind of business would make you interest in me?"

He walked around me, "See, you're not normal.

But you're off to meet with me.

You're the only one I've met,

Who's more remarkable than the me who stands before you.

I really don't mean to sound boastful,

I'm not even the greatest of the knights.

But I think you seem to be the weakest of the martians,

But I know one thing about you -

I am trying to look out for you."

He stopped in the middle of the sidewalk, and he stared at me. I almost felt uncomfortable. He doesn't strike me as the type of person who'd need redemption, anyways. Was he going to tell me something or was he just going to stand there, looking? I cleared my throat, "I'm not sure I'm the weakest of the martians."

"What does that even mean?"

"It means that I'd be a poor fit for your pack." He gave me a playful smile, "Right?

I let out a laugh.

"I'm just kidding; I don't even know where that came from," he shook his head.

"Well, it's not much of a compliment."

"It wasn't meant to be one. I'm glad that you weren't the weakest of those martians; I'm just used to dealing with plenty of worthless people."

"Thanks. That was gracious of you."

"I meant it.

I really do mean it.

I've been around that many of you that I kinda know how to tell..."

"What?"

"I'm... exaggerating. I'm just kidding."

"Well, you know, I don't always feel the need to talk much," I said.

"Part of being around people like me really does change you."

"Oh, are you sure? I don't really like to think of myself as an 'us.

After all, I'm just a lowly vampire."

"Vampires have to stick together, though. What kind of friends would we be if we didn't?"

We both chuckled. This was the moment that I'd been waiting for.

"Hey... do you wanna join my pack? I mean, I know that what I found last night wouldn't be a fit for all of us, but we could always use another vampire."

"Hmm... that's very generous of you. And I'm sure that you're very good at playing your music, but it's not really the kind of thing that won over anybody."

The twilight breeze had died down completely. The street was empty. But I couldn't help but stare at him. I was captivated by all of his thoughts. Every single one that came to his head.

"You're different from them all... in certain ways," he said.

He's definitely different. So different from me that it's...

He's different than you. I mean, he's an all around decent guy. Cares about his friends and loves to play that guitar. I'm sure that he'd make an excellent leader for the others. I'm sure that I'd love to see them all happy.

But he's not like them at all. He's...

I'm not sure what he is.

A better man than I am.

A better man than I ever was.

He'd be a good leader for the pack.

He'd be the best.

I felt a chill go down my spine.

No, there was no way this would end well.

"I'd be better off with my own sel-"

"Hey," he said, interrupting me, "you don't have to justify yourself to me. I offer my apologies, I shouldn't have tried to impose on you."

"No, I'm thinking for myself. I'm, uh, just a bit out of it, but I don't want to impose on you. And I'd love to work with you, but I think that our musicians really aren't all that compatible."

"You don't seem to think about yourself," he replied, "but I don't think about myself that much either. Did you consider the ability we have as vampires? Vampire's are better than humans in most ways. I know that we could still do great things-"

"You act so different from me, though. You'd never want something like that."

"I'm not sure what you mean," he said.

"Have you ever-"

"Sorry, but I really need to get going. Do you mind? I mean, do you mind if I catch up with you again? If you still have time?"

He said it in a tone of voice that showed his true desire to say something else...



Pic (Source)

Sort:  

Congratulations @crocodilesputnik! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!